5 new MPPs to be sworn in at Queen's Park this week

Five new Members of Provincial Parliament will be sworn in at Queen's Park this week.

Horwath pressured to push for a general election

Newly sworn-in MPP Peggy Sattler, seated, is among five new MPPS to take seats at Queen's Park. Sattler, with the NDP, represents the riding of London West. (Genevieve Tomney/CBC)

Five new of the Ontario legislature will be sworn in at Queen's Park this week.

The new MPPs include two Liberals, two New Democrats and one Progressive Conservative.

Their victories came at the beginning of this month, when byelections were held to replace five vacating Liberal MPPs.

The five incoming MPPs are:

  • Liberal Mitzie Hunter, for Scarborough-Guildwood
  • Liberal John Fraser, for Ottawa South
  • New Democrat Percy Hatfield, for Windsor-Tecumseh
  • New Democrat Peggy Sattler, for London West
  • Progressive Conservative Doug Holyday, for Etobicoke-Lakeshore

Amid the swearing in of the two New Democrat members on Wednesday, NDP leader Andrea Horwath faced questions about when a general election might happen.

The Progressive Conservatives have publicly urged Horwath to push for an election.

"I have no way of knowing what the next several months are going to bring," Horwath said.

The PCs have publicly faced down recent unrest over party leader Tim Hudak's leadership, insisting it won't hurt them in a general election they still want.

In the meantime, Premier Kathleen Wynne has said she'll continue trying to make a minority government work.

Following the byelections, the governing Liberals hold just 50 of the 107 seats in the legislature. The Tories have 37 and the New Democrats the remaining 20.

With files from CBC's Genevieve Tomney