Thunder Bay

Thunder Bay police officers to receive medals for bravery

Five officers from the Thunder Bay Police Service will be among 43 people receiving medals from the Governor General of Canada in Ottawa Thursday.

Five officers from the Thunder Bay Police Service will receive medals from the Governor General of Canada in Ottawa Thursday.

Constables Kevin Carroll, James Arthur Elvish, Clark McKever, Kenneth Ogima and Jason Rybak will each be presented a Medal of Bravery in recognition of their actions during a water rescue in 2010.


The rescue took place around 10:30 p.m. on May 26, after Thunder Bay Police, E.M.S. and Fire services responded to a reported vehicle in the water at Marina Park.

Despite the low visibility, the officers located the wreck as it sank into Lake Superior, smashed out the windows and pulled a woman to safety.

"These officers symbolize what it takes to serve and protect our community,” said Chief J.P. Levesque. “A life was saved because these members put their own lives at risk."

Governor General of Canada David Johnston will present the medals to the officers during a ceremony at Rideau Hall, on April 24.

The Medal of Bravery recognizes acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?