Ontario riding profile: Thunder Bay-Superior North

Thunder Bay-Superior North, one of the two ridings in Thunder Bay, Ont., has had Michael Gravelle representing the riding since 1995.

Liberals have held riding since 1995

Candidates for the Thunder Bay - Superior North riding at a debate at the DaVinci Centre, hosted by the Thunder Bay Chamber of Commerce. (l to r) PC candidate Derek Parks, Liberal candidate Michael Gravelle, NDP candidate Lise Vaugeois and Trillium Party candidate Louise Ewen. (Jeff Walters/CBC)

Since 1995, the Thunder Bay–Superior North riding, one of two ridings in the northwestern Ontario city, has been represented by Michael Gravelle. 

The riding has been held by either the Liberals or NDP, since 1967.  Jim Foulds was the NDP MPP for 14 years, from 1971 until 1987.

Michael Gravelle, the Liberal candidate as well as the incumbent, has won the riding handily in every election since 1999,  capturing 45 per cent or more of the vote. 

The riding itself has a population of about 70,000, and encompasses the north side of Thunder Bay, as well as a number of smaller towns along the north shore of Lake Superior, and the Municipality of Greenstone.

Candidates in the 2018 provincial election include:

  • Michael Gravelle, Liberal, incumbent MPP
  • Lise Vaugeois, NDP
  • Derek Parks, Ontario PC Party
  • Amanda Moddejonge, Green Party of Ontario
  • Louise Ewen, Trillium Party
  • Andy Wolff, Northern Ontario Party
  • Tony Gallo, Libertarian Party

Thunder Bay–Superior North was created from the former Port Arthur and Lake Nipigon ridings.

The provincial election will be held June 7.