Laurentian University department gets new name, $10M in funding

The department of earth sciences at Laurentian University in Sudbury, Ont. has a new name and a $10 million donation to go along with it.

David Harquail is the latest mining executive to donate to university

Laurentian University has renamed its department of earth sciences the Harquail School of Earth Sciences after a $10 million donation from the Harquail family foundation. (Laurentian University / Facebook)

The department of earth sciences at Laurentian University in Sudbury, Ont. has a new name, and a big cash donation to go along with it.

David Harquail, the president and CEO of the Franco-Nevada mining company, said his family foundation is investing $10 million to the department and the related mineral exploration research centre.

A press release from Laurentian on Monday said the school's board of governors unanimously decided to rename the earth sciences department the Harquail School of Earth Sciences and to associate the research centre's work with the Harquail name.

"This is a step towards making Laurentian the leading center for mineral exploration research in the world," Harquail was quoted as saying in the release.

"Success will come from the development of new concepts and tools to find the next generation of ore deposits," he added, noting the school's proximity to mines and mining-related government department and research agencies.

Of the $10 million, $8.4 million will go towards new lab equipment and supplies, as well as scholarships and support for international PhD students, according to the university. The remaining money is earmarked for the recruitment of a research chair in exploration targeting, as well as other support.

"We are immensely grateful to the Harquail family for this transformative gift," Douglas Tinkham, the director of the Harquail School of Earth Sciences was quoted as saying in Monday's release.

This is just the latest Laurentian department to get named after a major donor.

The Harquail School of Earth Sciences now joins the Goodman School of Mines, the Bharti School of Engineering and the McEwen School of Architecture, named for mining magnate Robert McEwen, who donated $10 million to the new downtown school earlier this summer.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?