Several first-time mayors elected in Ontario

Ontario's mayoral races were decided Monday night, with the results a mix of upsets, tight races and easy incumbent victories.

Ontario's mayoral raceswere decided Monday night, with the resultsa mix of upsets, tight races and easy incumbent victories.

In Toronto, David Miller easily won re-election, earning over63 per cent of the vote to defeat Jane Pitfield.

Bob Chiarelli wasn't as fortunate in Ottawa, finishing third in an attempt to win a third mayoral term. Technology executive Larry O'Brien is the city's new mayor.

Under new provincial legislation, for the first time, all of the candidates elected on Monday will serve four-year terms instead of three.

Following are the mayoral results in some of the province's othercities:

  • Challenger Dave Aspden became the new mayor of Barrie, defeating Rob Hamilton.
  • Longtime provincial Tory MPP Cam Jackson emerged from a competitive race in Burlington in the bid to succeed Rob MacIsaac.
  • In Hamilton, Fred Eisenberger won a seesaw battle over incumbent Larry Di Ianni.
  • Kingston mayor Harvey Rosen won a tight race over challenger Rick Downes, winning by less than 800 votes. Rosen won 83.5 per cent of the vote in the last election.
  • Carl Zehr won two-thirds of the vote in Kitchener, securing another term.
  • Anne Marie DeCicco-Best won a third term in London, turning aside the mayoral bid of Joe Fontana, who had represented the city for the last 16 years federally as a Liberal MP.
  • Ted Salci earned a second term in Niagara Falls, defeating longtime alderman Wayne Campbell.
  • In North Bay, incumbent Vic Fedeli easily defeated former mayor Stan Lawlor.
  • In Oakville, former YTV co-founder Rob Burton beat six-term mayor Ann Mulvale.
  • In Oshawa, John Gray won re-election in a romp.
  • Former city councillor Paul Ayotte became Peterborough's mayor, as Sylvia Sutherland did not seek re-election.
  • In St. Catharines, Brian McMullan emerged victorious from a crowded field to replace Tim Rigby, who did not seek a fourth term.
  • Mike Bradley easily won a seventh term as mayor of Sarnia.
  • In Sault Ste. Marie, John Rowswell won another term as mayor, winning nearly two-thirds of the vote.
  • Stratford Mayor Dan Mathieson was re-elected with approximately 75 per cent of the vote.
  • In Sudbury, former NDP MP John Rodriguezfinished more than 20percentage points ahead of incumbent Dave Courtemanche.
  • Thunder Bay Mayor Lynn Peterson easily won re-election.
  • Tom Loughren was acclaimed mayor of Timmins, replacing the retired Vic Power.
  • Brenda Halloran became the new mayor of Waterloo, beating incumbent Herb Epps.
  • Windsor Mayor Eddie Francis brushed off charges from the opposition that he would leave before his next term expired to run federally as a Conservative, winning over 77 per cent of the vote.