Saskatoon's new mayor, council sworn in Monday night

All members of the new city council were sworn in at the meeting on Monday evening.

New city council sworn in at meeting

Charlie Clark is sworn in as Saskatoon's newest mayor. (Chanss Lagaden/CBC)

Charlie Clark was sworn in as Saskatoon's new mayor at Monday night's council meeting.

Clark — a veteran Ward 6 councillor — beat incumbent mayor Don Atchison by just over 3,000 votes. Atchison was vying for his fifth term as mayor.

"What I wanted to offer was a really inclusive approach to being mayor," Clark told CBC News the day after the election.

"A mayor who brings the whole city together, somebody who is the mayor for everybody. Whether you're a suburban person or a downtown person, a businessperson or somebody involved in community issues, east side or west side, Indigenous or non-Indigenous, everybody has something to bring to the table."

Saskatoon mayor-elect Charlie Clark celebrated with supporters after the results of Wednesday's election. (Don Somers/CBC)

Clark was first elected to city council in 2006, and — as a councillor — has served on a number of city committees including the Board of Police Commissioners, the Meewasin Valley Authority board and the Remai Art Gallery board.

After being elected as mayor, Clark said he would be focusing on the core issues he campaigned on.

"We need to make sure that we are still creating jobs in Saskatoon, that we're making that change in our growth pattern, that we're making sure that our neighbourhoods are safe and addressing some of the concerns about community safety and well-being that we have in our city."

All members of the new city council were sworn in at the meeting.

Members of the council are:

  • Ward 1 — Darren Hill, incumbent.
  • Ward 2 —  Hilary Gough.
  • Ward 3 — Ann Iwanchuk, incumbent.
  • Ward 4 — Troy Davies, incumbent.
  • Ward 5 — Randy Donauer, incumbent.
  • Ward 6 — Cynthia Block.
  • Ward 7 — Mairin Loewen, incumbent.
  • Ward 8 —  Sarina Gersher.
  • Ward 9 — Bev Dubois.
  • Ward 10 — Zach Jeffries, incumbent.


After spending five years in radio, Courtney Markewich joined CBC Saskatoon in 2016. She is currently a Social Media News Editor/Presenter for @CBCSask and @CBCSaskatoon.