Mark Docherty elected speaker of Sask. Legislative Assembly

The MLA for Regina Coronation Park is the new speaker at the Saskatchewan Legislative Assembly.

Regina MLA beats out 6 other applicants

Mark Docherty beat out six others to become speaker of the Saskatchewan Legislative Assembly on Monday. (CBC)

Mark Docherty is the new speaker at the Saskatchewan Legislative Assembly. 

The MLA for Regina Coronation Park was elected to the position Monday by 57 MLAs after five ballots of voting. 

The Legislative Assembly needed a new speaker because the man who formally held the position, Saskatoon Eastview MLA Corey Tochor, is making the jump to federal politics.

Tochor, who has been speaker since 2016, resigned from the position in January and declared his intention to challenge MP Brad Trost for the Conservative nomination of the Saskatoon-University riding in the next federal election. Tochor won that nomination over the weekend.

Seven MLAs submitted applications for the position of speaker, six of whom are from the Saskatchewan Party. 

The candidates included Docherty, Glen Hart, Delbert Kirsch, Warren Michelson, Colleen Young and Eric Olauson from the Saskatchewan Party, and Danielle Chartier from the NDP.

Following his election, Docherty walked to his new post linked arm-in-arm with Premier Scott Moe and NDP leader Ryan Meili, as is the tradition. 

As he donned the traditional tricorn hat he laughed and said, "That was the reason why I ran."

The speaker essentially referees the Legislative Assembly and enforces the rules.

The speaker is also expected to be non-partisan and impartial.