Vicki Mowat wins Sask. NDP byelection nomination for Saskatoon-Fairview

Vicki Mowat has won the byelection nomination for the NDP in the Saskatoon-Fairview riding.

Seat was vacated by former Sask. Party MLA Jennifer Campeau

Mowat beat out Keith Jorgenson and Chris Sicotte for the nomination. (Facebook)

Vicki Mowat has won the NDP nomination for the Saskatoon-Fairview riding.

A byelection will be held after former Saskatchewan Party MLA Jennifer Campeau retired from politics and vacated her seat. 

Campeau took a job with mining company Rio Tinto in British Columbia. Campeau announced her retirement last month.

Mowat beat out Keith Jorgenson and Chris Sicotte after a vote from party faithful on Monday evening.

A byelection must be held within six months.

Mowat will hope to win the seat from the Sask. Party whose candidate, Cameron Scott, was acclaimed as nominee. 

Mowat works as the executive assistant to the associate dean of Aboriginal Affairs in the College of Arts and Science at the University of Saskatchewan. She ran for the NDP in the 2016 provincial election. 

David Prokopchuk is running for the Progressive Conservative Party and Shah Rukh, who ran for the Liberals in 2016, will run for the Liberals once his paperwork is filed.

No Green Party candidate has been announced but the party said someone will run. 

With files from Guy Quenneville