Roughriders sign Tristan Jackson ahead of free agency

The Saskatchewan Roughriders re-signed defensive back Tristan Jackson on Monday afternoon, with the CFL free agency period set to open Tuesday at noon ET.

Dan Clark, Sam Hurl, Tino Sunseri all set to become free agents on Feb. 10

(Liam Richards/Canadian Press)

T-Jack is back.

The Saskatchewan Roughriders re-signed defensive back Tristan Jackson on Monday afternoon. The team also signed linebacker Kevin Régimbald. Both players were set to become free agents.

What could have been a very stressful 24 hours for Roughriders fans is more tolerable with names like Dressler and Brackenridge under contract.

The CFL free agency period opens on Tuesday at 11 a.m. CST.

As of Monday afternoon, the Riders had 12 unsigned players, including linebacker Brian Peters and offensive lineman Dan Clark.

Saskatchewan has already signed Weston Dressler, Tyron Brackenridge, Weldon Brown, Tearrius George, and Jerome Messam.

The team recently released Ben Heenan, who was set to become a free agent, so he could join the NFL's Indianapolis Colts.

Former University of Regina Rams offensive lineman Brett Jones — who spent the past two seasons with the Calgary Stampeders — is expected to head to the NFL.

Here are the Riders remaining free agents:

  • Josh Bartel (Punter)
  • Brandon Boudreaux (Defensive end)
  • Dan Clark (Offensive line)
  • Dan DePalma (Receiver)
  • Diamond Ferri (Linebacker)
  • Neal Hughes (Running back)
  • Sam Hurl (Linebacker)
  • Scott McHenry (Receiver)
  • Brian Peters (Linebacker)
  • Tino Sunseri (Quarterback)
  • Keith Toston (Running back)
  • Rod Williams (Defensive back)

Other potential free agents around the CFL include running back Kendial Lawrence, defensive back Geoff Tisdale, linebacker Rennie Curran, quarterback Kevin Glenn, and former University of Saskatchewan safety/linebacker Keenan MacDougall.