Future 40 Under 40 finalists announced

The first five finalists of CBC Saskatchewan's Future 40 Under 40 competition have been announced.

Names of 1st 5 revealed Monday morning, 5 more tonight

The first five finalists of CBC Saskatchewan's Future 40 Under 40 competition have been announced.

They include:

Chandra McIvor (CBC)

Chandra McIvor of Saskatoon, who runs the Rainbow youth group at a community centre and works with schools, families and youth on lesbian, gay and transgender issues.

David Straub (CBC)

Regina restaurateur David Straub has been a part of Regina's restaurant scene for more than 10 years and has been involved launching Mojo, Flip Eatery & Drink as well as Regina's first ever charcuterie: Salt.

Kevin Seesequasis (CBC)

Community activist Kevin Seesequasis, who has been involved with LGBT issues, First Nations education and helped lead his community, the Beardy's and Okemasis First Nation, to a top five finish in the Kraft Hockeyville challenge a few years ago.

Brent Bayda (CBC)

Volunteer Brett Bayda, who runs an annual fundraiser called "Swinging with the Stars," that raises money for a hospice in Saskatoon.

The CEO of online retailer is also a member of the Canadian Progress Club Saskatoon Downtown, which supports various programs in that city.

Jonathan Meyer (CBC)

Jonathan Meyer, the hockey-loving community economic development officer for the town of Eston, who volunteers for various groups, including the local senior hockey team. He organized two "Winter Classic" outdoor hockey games, raising close to $90,000 for local recreation.

Future 40 under 40

CBC's Future 40 under 40 is a competition looking for people who are making a difference in Saskatchewan. 

A total of 376 people have been nominated.

The first five winners were revealed Monday morning on The Morning Edition and Saskatoon Morning.

To learn about the next winners, check out the CBC News at 5, 5:30 and 6. Notes on subsequent winners will be added to our feature page for Future 40 under 40.

The public will also be able to vote in the people's choice category. Voting opens on Friday, March 21 at 6 a.m. through Sunday, March 23 until 12 midnight.

The winner will get an iPad.