Prominents Dombrowsky, Rossi, Thomson, Denley defeated

A quick look at some of the high-profile candidates, including party leaders, key cabinet ministers and star recruits running in districts across Ontario.
The NDP's Jagmeet Singh, left, was elected Thursday in Bramalea-Gore-Malton, after nearly winning the seat in the May 2 federal election. (Canadian Press)

A quick look at some of the high-profile candidates, running in districts across Ontario, including party leaders, key cabinet ministers and star recruits. We'll update the list to indicate who has been elected or defeated. Click on the district names for full results for that riding.

The Leaders

Dalton McGuintyOttawa South, Liberal leader. *RE-ELECTED

Tim HudakNiagara West-Glanbrook, PC leader. *RE-ELECTED

Andrea HorwathHamilton Centre, NDP leader. *RE-ELECTED

Mike SchreinerSimcoe Grey, Green Party leader. *DEFEATED


Laurel BrotenEtobicoke Lakeshore, incumbent Liberal cabinet minister. *RE-ELECTED

Paul FerreiraYork South-Weston, former NDP MPP seeks return. *DEFEATED

Monte KwinterYork Centre, 25-year Liberal veteran. *RE-ELECTED

Glen MurrayToronto Centre, Liberal minister and former Winnipeg mayor. *RE-ELECTED

Cortney PasternakParkdale-High Park, TV journalist running for the Liberals. *DEFEATED

Rocco RossiEglinton Lawrence, former Toronto mayoral candidate running for the PCs.  *DEFEATED

Jonah ScheinDavenport, social worker had support of NDP MP Andrew Cash. *ELECTED

Sarah ThomsonTrinity Spadina, former Toronto mayoral candidate running for the Liberals. *DEFEATED

Kathleen WynneDon Valley West, incumbent Liberal transportation minister. *RE-ELECTED


Linda JeffreyBrampton-Springdale, Liberal minister.  *RE-ELECTED

Jagmeet SinghBramalea-Gore-Malton, NDP candidate nearly won federally. *ELECTED

Greg SorbaraVaughan, Liberal campaign co-chair. *RE-ELECTED

Charles SousaMississauga South, Liberal labour minister. *RE-ELECTED

Ottawa and Eastern Ontario

Randall DenleyOttawa West-Nepean, Ottawa Citizen columnist running for the PCs. *DEFEATED

Leona DombrowskyPrince Edward-Hastings, Liberal education minister. *DEFEATED

Jack MacLarenCarleton-Mississippi Mills, ousted longtime Tory Norm Sterling for the PC nomination. *ELECTED

Alan WilsonPeterborough, PC challenger is former Quaker Oats executive. *DEFEATED

Southern Ontario

Dwight Duncan, Windsor-Tecumseh, incumbent Liberal finance minister. *RE-ELECTED

Elizabeth WitmerKitchener-Waterloo, Former Tory cabinet minister. *RE-ELECTED 

Northern Ontario

Rich BartolucciSudbury, incumbent Liberal municipal affairs minister. *RE-ELECTED