PC leadership will be 5-person race

Five candidates will vie for the leadership of the PEI Progressive Conservative Party.

Party approves candidates as nominations close

The PC Party leadership candidates, from left top to bottom, Kevin J. Arsenault, Shawn Driscoll, Dennis King, Sarah Stewart-Clark and Allan Dale. (PC Party of P.E.I.)

Five candidates will vie for the leadership of the P.E.I. Progressive Conservative Party.

The party made the announcement on its website as nominations came to a close Friday.

Allan Dale, Dennis King, Sarah Stewart-Clark, Shawn Driscoll and Kevin J. Arsenault were approved by the candidate evaluation committee.

James Aylward is stepping down as leader of the PC Party on P.E.I. (Natalia Goodwin/CBC)

The leadership convention will be Feb. 9 at the Eastlink Centre in Charlottetown.

The new leader will replace James Aylward, who is stepping down but said he plans to run as an MLA in the next election.

More P.E.I. news


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.