Technical glitch extends Arnprior vote 1 day

Arnprior, Ont., has extended its municipal election because of problems with its electronic voting system Monday.

More Ottawa-area municipalities report results

Arnprior, Ont., has extended its municipal election because of problems with its electronic voting system Monday.

The town reported a "standstill" during the final two hours of the vote and blamed it on a high volume of traffic to the site.

Arnprior returning officer Jacquie Farrow-Lawrence made the decision to extend voting by a day, until 8 p.m. Tuesday.

Several other municipalities across the province also reported problems with the Intelivote system. Most resolved their problems by extending voting for an additional hour.

Election results roll in

In other Ottawa-area results:

  • In the town of Smiths Falls, incumbent mayor Dennis Staples appears to have narrowly beaten Jeffrey Keays. Unofficial numbers show Staples winning by 1,925 votes to 1,857. The town also elected Dawn Quinn, Christopher Cummings, Lorraine Allen, Ken Graham, Jeff Bogaerts, Shawn J. Pankow and Jay Brennan as councillors.
  • The Township of Laurentian Valley reported Jack Wilson was re-elected as mayor. Steve Bennett, Jen Gauthier, George Hodgkinson, Debbie Robinson, James Sheedy and Allan Wren were elected to serve as councillors.