Nova Scotia

Comfort centres offer food, water, charging stations for Nova Scotians

Communities across Nova Scotia have opened comfort centres for residents who continue to be affected by the aftermath of Hurricane Fiona. Comfort centres offer food, water and charging stations. 

Communities across the province are opening spaces to help residents affected by Hurricane Fiona

Beech Hill fire hall in Antigonish is open as a comfort centre offering meals, water and charging stations. (Antigonish County Volunteer Fire Department/Facebook)

Communities across Nova Scotia have opened comfort centres for residents who continue to be affected by the aftermath of Hurricane Fiona. Comfort centres offer food, water and charging stations. 

Comfort centres available by region are listed below for Wednesday, Sept. 28, 2022 only.  All times are local.

For the most up-to-date list of open comfort centres, the province is maintaining a daily list. 

Antigonish County 

  • Beech Hill fire hall open 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
  • North Shore fire hall open noon to 5 p.m.
  • Arisaig Parish Hall open noon to 3 p.m.
  • Paqtnkek Gymnasium open 11 a.m. to 8 p.m.
  • Lochaber Centre open noon to 4 p.m.
  • St. Andrews Community Centre open 1 p.m. to 3 p.m.
  • People's Place Library open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • St. Josephs Community Centre open 5 p.m. to 7 p.m.
  • Tracadie fire hall open 2 p.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Mini Trail Community Centre open 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.
  • Pomquet fire hall open 6 8 p.m.

Cape Breton Regional Municipality 

  • Boisdale volunteer fire department open 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. 
  • Gabarus volunteer fire department open 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. 
  • Georges River volunteer fire department open 10 a.m. to 7 p.m.
  • Glace Bay Miner's Forum open 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Howie Centre volunteer fire department open 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. 
  • Louisbourg volunteer fire department open 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
  • New Waterford volunteer fire department open 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. 
  • North Sydney volunteer fire department open 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.
  • Reserve Mines volunteer fire dept open 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.
  • Joan Harriss Cruise Pavilion open 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Canadian Coast Guard College open noon to 6 p.m.

CBRM non-potable water locations

  • Georges River volunteer fire department.
  • Westmount volunteer fire department.
  • Southside Boularderie fire department.
  • Sydney River volunteer fire department.
  • Gabarus volunteer fire department.
  • Coxheath volunteer fire department.
  • Howie Centre volunteer fire department.
  • Florence volunteer fire department.
  • Boisdale volunteer fire department.

Colchester County 

  • Bass River Fire Hall
  • Bible Hill Village Hall open 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.
  • Great Village Fire Hall
  • North River Fire Hall   
  • Salmon River fire hall open noon to 8 p.m.
  • Stewiacke Community Centre
  • Rath Eastlink Community Centre
  • Truro Fire Hall (promenade entrace)   
  • Five Islands Volunteer and District Fire Brigade open 10 a.m. to noon.
  • Onslow-Belmont Fire Brigade open 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.
  • Tatamagouche Fire Hall   
  • Upper Stewiacke Fire Hall   

Cumberland County

  • Amherst fire department open until 9 p.m.
  • Collingwood fire department open until 7 p.m.
  • Joggins fire department.
  • Parrsboro fire department open until 2 p.m.
  • Pugwash fire department.
  • River Hebert fire department.
  • Tidnish Fire  Department open 2 p.m. to 7 p.m.
  • Wallace fire department open until 9 p.m.
  • Westchester fire department open until  4 p.m.
  • Wentworth fire department.

Halifax Regional Municipality

  • Hubbards Area Lions Club open 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.
  • Moser River Community Hall open 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.
  • Beaver Bank Kinsac Community Centre open 11 a.m. to 9 p.m.
  • Musquodoboit Valley Bicentennial Theatre open 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
  • Findlay Community Centre open 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. 
  • Canada Games Centre open 7 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Prospect Road Community Centre
  • Sheet Harbour Royal Canadian Legion Branch #58

Hants County

  • East Hants Aquatic Centre open 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. 
  • Maitland fire hall open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. 

Lunenburg County

  • Lunenburg County Lifestyle Centre open 6:30 a.m. to 8 p.m.
  • Hubbards Area Lions Club

Pictou County 

  • Abercrombie volunteer fire department open 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.
  • Rath Eastlink Community Centre open 6 a.m. to 9 p.m.
  • Eureka Fire Department
  • Summer Street Industries
  • Ward 1 Community Centre
  • New Horizons Club
  • Pictou Fire Hall
  • Plymouth Fire Hall
  • River John Legion
  • West Branch Community Centre
  • Scotsburn Fire Hall
  • Stellarton Fire Hall
  • Westville Gymnasium

Victoria County

  • Big Bras d'Or Community Center
  • Ross Ferry Volunteer Fire Hall   

Add some “good” to your morning and evening.

A variety of newsletters you'll love, delivered straight to you.

Sign up now


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?