Nova Scotia

Atlantic Canada gives nation first glimpse of Liberal strength

The Liberal Party has swept Atlantic Canada, defeating three cabinet ministers.

Liberals sweep region's 32 seats, oust aboriginal affairs, ACOA and fisheries ministers

Liberal Bill Casey won Cumberland-Colchester seat in Nova Scotia, a riding he formerly won as a Conservative. (CBC)

The Liberal Party swept across Atlantic Canada Monday, winning every seat in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, P.E.I., and Newfoundland and Labrador while defeating three Conservative cabinet ministers.

We'll bring you live coverage from our reporters in the field.

Nova Scotia

In Nova Scotia, Liberals swept all 11 seats. 

Liberal Andy Fillmore defeated the NDP's deputy leader Megan Leslie. Liberal Darrell Samson defeated the NDP's Peter Stoffer

In Cape Breton-Canso, Liberal Rodger Cuzner won. In Sydney-Victoria, Liberal Mark Eyking won. In Cumberland-Colchester, Liberal Bill Casey won the seat from the Conservatives. 

Geoff Regan held his seat in Halifax West for the Liberals. Sean Fraser won Central Nova, which was last held by Conservative Peter MacKay. Liberal Darren Fisher won Dartmouth-Cole Harbour.

Scott Brison held his Kings-Hants for the Liberals. Colin Fraser won West Nova for the Liberals. Bernadette Jordan took South Shore-St. Margarets for the Liberals. 

Newfoundland and Labrador

In Newfoundland and Labrador, Liberals won all seven seats. Liberal Nick Whalen won St. John's East from NDP incumbent Jack Harris. 

"I'm so fuddle duddle happy, I could fuddle duddle cry," Whalen told supporters at his campaign headquarters office, making light of a famous quote by former prime minister Pierre Trudeau, the father of Liberal Leader Justin Trudeau. 

Liberal incumbent Scott Simms has been re-elected in Coast of Bays-Central-Notre Dame.

Meanwhile, in Bonavista-Burin-Trinity Liberal incumbent Judy Foote was also re-elected. In Avalon, Liberal Ken McDonald ousted incumbent independent Scott Andrews.

Liberal Seamus O'Regan upsets NDP incumbent Ryan Cleary in St. John's South-Mount Pearl. Political newcomer Gudie Hutchings swept to a landslide victory for the Liberals in the riding of Long Range Mountains.

Liberal incumbent Yvonne Jones was re-elected after maintaining a wide lead in Labrador, well ahead of former MP Peter Penashue, who was once again seeking election in his former riding.


In P.E.I., all four ridings went to the Liberals. Conservative Fisheries Minister Gail Shea lost her Egmont seat to Liberal Bobby Morrisey. 

In Cardigan, Liberal Lawrence MacAulay won. In Charlottetown, Sean Casey held the seat for the Liberals. Wayne Easter held Malpeque for the Liberals. 

New Brunswick

In New Brunswick, all 10 seats have gone Liberal. Fundy-Royal went to Liberal Alaina Lockhart. She defeated Rob Moore, who had served as the Conservative minister of state for the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency (ACOA). 

Liberal Dominic LeBlanc was declared elected in Beausejour and Liberal René Arseneault was declared elected in Madawaska Restigouche. Arseneault defeated Aboriginal Affairs Minister Bernard Valcourt.

Liberal Matt DeCourcey has been elected in Fredericton, defeating Conservative Keith Ashfield. 

In Moncton-Riveview-Dieppe, Liberal Ginette Petitpas Taylor defeated Conservative Robert Goguen.

The Liberals managed to win in the northeastern riding of Acadie-Bathurst. Serge Cormier defeated the NDP's Jason Godin, who was trying to hold the riding after the retirement of long-time NDP MP Yvon Godin.

In Moncton-Riverview-Dieppe, Liberal Ginette Petitpas Taylor defeated Conservative Robert Goguen.

Liberal Pat Finnigan has been elected in Miramichi-Grand Lake, defeating incumbent Conservative Tilly O'Neill-Gordon.

In Saint John-Rothesay, Liberal candidate Wayne Long also defeated the incumbent Conservative, Rodney Weston.

The Liberals also broke into Conservative strongholds.

Liberal Karen Ludwig defeated Conservative John Williamson in New Brunswick Southwest.

Big change from 2011

In the 2011 election, Nova Scotia sent four Conservatives, four Liberals and three NDP members to Ottawa as members of Parliament.

N.L. voted in four Liberals, two NDP and one Conservative, but after a resignation the pre-election count was five Liberals and two NDP.

In New Brunswick, voters elected eight Conservatives, one Liberal and one NDP.

P.E.I. elected three Liberals and one Conservative. 


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.