Nova Scotia

Liberals hang on to majority of seats in Atlantic Canada, but it's no sweep

The Liberals are in the lead in the region as ballot counting continues in Atlantic Canada — but it's no crimson tide this time.

Conservatives make gains in New Brunswick and Nova Scotia as NDP grabs one seat back in N.L.

Jenica Atwin of the Green Party, the NDP's Jack Harris and Liberal Jaime Battiste all won seats in Atlantic Canada. Atwin is New Brunswick's first Green MP, and Battiste is Nova Scotia's first Indigenous MP. (CBC)

It was a good night for the Liberals in Atlantic Canada, but it was no crimson tide.

After sweeping every single one of the region's 32 ridings in Atlantic Canada in 2015, the Liberals lost ground to the Conservatives in New Brunswick and Nova Scotia.

And while all of Prince Edward Island's ridings stayed in the Liberal column, the NDP made inroads in Newfoundland and Labrador, picking up the seat of St. John's East.

And in Fredericton, the Green Party's Jenica Atwin won the riding from the incumbent Liberal, Matt DeCourcey, to become New Brunswick's first Green MP.

Elsewhere in New Brunswick, the ridings of Tobique-Mactaquac, New Brunswick Southwest and Fundy Royal turned blue. One Nova Scotia riding went to the Conservatives, with former provincial Progressive Conservative MLA Chris d'Entremont winning West Nova.

Several other Nova Scotia ridings stayed Liberal, with incumbent Liberal MPs Andy Fillmore, Sean Fraser, Bernadette Jordan, Geoff Regan, Darrell Samson and Darren Fisher all returning to Ottawa.

The Liberals also held on to Cape Breton's two ridings, despite strong challenges from the Conservatives. Jaime Battiste overcame controversy over his past racist and sexist social media posts to take the riding of Sydney-Victoria, becoming Canada's first Mi'kmaw MP.

The Nova Scotia riding of Cumberland-Colchester went down to the wire, with a tight race between Liberal Lenore Zann and Conservative Scott Armstrong. Ultimately Zann pulled out the win.

P.E.I. is fully Liberal, with Lawrence MacAulay winning in Cardigan, Wayne Easter winning in Malpeque and Bobby Morrissey winning in Egmont. Liberal Sean Casey was also re-elected in Charlottetown.

Most of Newfoundland and Labrador has stayed Liberal, with exception of St. John's East, where the NDP's Jack Harris defeated Liberal incumbant Nick Whalen.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.