David Laxton resigns as Yukon Speaker, Patti McLeod takes over

Porter Creek Centre MLA David Laxton has left the governing Yukon Party caucus and his position as Speaker of the Yukon Legislative Assembly. MLAs elected Patti McLeod to replace him as Speaker.

Laxton cites 'personal matters', will now sit as Independent MLA

David Laxton has served as Speaker of the Yukon Legislative Assembly since 2011. MLAs will elect a new Speaker on Tuesday.

Yukon MLAs have elected a new Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, after David Laxton unexpectedly resigned from the post on Tuesday.

A statement from the Yukon Party on Tuesday said Laxton was giving up his position as Speaker for "personal reasons." He's been Speaker since the last territorial election, in 2011.

Watson Lake MLA Patti McLeod was sworn in as the new Speaker on Tuesday. (Government of Yukon)

"I have decided at this time, I need to step back from this role and focus on personal matters," Laxton is quoted in statement.

The Porter Creek Centre MLA has also left the governing Yukon Party caucus to sit as an Independent MLA.

MLAs voted Tuesday afternoon to install Watson Lake MLA Patti McLeod as the new Speaker. She was immediately sworn in.

McLeod was first elected in 2011 and has previously served as Deputy Speaker. She will fulfil her new role until the next territorial election later this year.