2 Yukoners named to Senate appointment body

Diane Strand and Carl Friesen were named to the advisory board, along with eight other Canadians.

Diane Strand, Carl Friesen names along with 8 other Canadians

A view shows the Senate Chamber on Parliament Hill in Ottawa. (Chris Wattie/Reuters)

Two Yukoners have been named to the board that recommends people for Senate appointments.

Diane Strand, former chief of the Champagne and Aishihik First Nations, and Carl Friesen, vice president of the engineering firm Underhill Geomatics Ltd. were named to the Independent Advisory Board on Friday, along with eight other Canadians.

The new Senate appointment process was established in 2016. It allows all Canadians to apply for a senate seat.

The Independent Advisory Board reviews those applications and makes non-binding recommendations to the prime minister. The recommendations are guided by established criteria, and are intended to be merit-based.

Right now, there are 12 vacancies in the Senate. In the North, both Yukon and the N.W.T. are without a senator.

Since 2016, 32 senators have been appointed under the new process.  


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.