Liberals officially sworn in, forming new Yukon government

Premier Sandy Silver and his six cabinet ministers have officially formed government after being sworn into office in Whitehorse Saturday afternoon.

Premier Sandy Silver appoints 6 cabinet ministers to office

The Liberal government's cabinet from left to right: Minister of Highways and Public Works Richard Mostyn; Minister of Health and Environment Pauline Frost; Minister of Justice and Education Tracy Anne McPhee; Premier Sandy Silver; Yukon commissioner Doug Phillips; Minister of Community Services John Streicker; Minister of Tourism and Culture Jeanie Dendys; and Deputy Premier as well as Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources Ranj Pillai. (Nancy Thomson/CBC)

Yukon Premier Sandy Silver and his cabinet have officially formed government after being sworn into office in Whitehorse Saturday afternoon.  

The ceremony began at 2 p.m. PT in the foyer of the main Yukon government building.

Silver appointed six cabinet ministers. They are:

  • Ranj Pillai
    • Deputy Premier
    • Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources
    • Minister of Economic Development
    • Responsible for Yukon Development Corporation
    • Responsible for the Yukon Energy Corporation
  • John Streicker
    • Minister of Community Services
    • Responsible for the French Language Services Directorate 
    • Responsible for the Yukon Liquor Corporation
    • Responsible for the Yukon Lottery Commission
  • Tracy Anne McPhee 
    • Minister of Justice
    • Minister of Education
  • Pauline Frost
    • Minister of Health and Social Services
    • Minister of Environment
    • Responsible for Yukon Housing Corporation
  • Richard Mostyn
    • Minister of Highways and Public Works
    • Minister for the Public Service Commission
  • Jeanie Dendys 
    • Minister of Tourism and Culture
    • Responsible for Women's Directorate 
    • Responsible for Yukon Workers Compensation Health and Safety Board

The new Liberal government is "committed to being [an] ethical, accountable, responsible government [that will] work tirelessly for the benefit of all Yukoners," said Silver, who is also the MLA for Klondike, after he officially took office alongside the ministers.

On top of his duties as premier, Silver is also the minister responsible for the Executive Council Office and for the Department of Finance.

The remaining 10 Liberals elected were sworn in as MLAs during a ceremony in the legislative assembly chambers at 11 a.m. Saturday morning.

Nils Clarke, MLA for Riverdale North, has been nominated for Speaker of the Legislative Assembly.

This is the first time Yukon will have a premier from the Klondike riding, and also marks the second ever Liberal government since the Yukon adopted party politics in 1978.  

Premier Pat Duncan headed a Liberal government from 2000 to 2002.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?