Yellowknife re-elects mayor Mark Heyck

Mark Heyck has been re-elected mayor of Yellowknife with 32 of 32 polling stations reporting results in the mayoral race.

Brad Mapes unseats mayor Andrew Cassidy in Hay River

Mark Heyck was re-elected mayor of Yellowknife Monday night. Heyck had a more than 3,000 vote lead over his challenger John Himmelman. (Richard Gleeson/CBC)

Mark Heyck has been re-elected mayor of Yellowknife, winning 4,478 of votes compared to 1,411 for challenger John Himmelman. 

All 32 polling stations had reported mayoral results by about 11:20 p.m.

The eight councillors elected were Rebecca Alty, Adrian Bell, Linda Bussey, Steve Payne, Niels Konge, Shauna Morgan, Rommel Silverio and Julian Morse.

In Hay River, Bradley Mapes unseated incumbent mayor Andrew Cassidy, with 810 votes to Cassidy's 540. People in Hay River also voted 721 to 372 in favour of borrowing $15 million to renovate the recreation centre.

Lynn Napier Buckley was elected mayor of Fort Smith, defeating incumbent mayor Brad Brake with 574 votes to 447.

Only 41 per cent of eligible voters cast a ballot in Inuvik, where Jim McDonald took the mayor's seat with 659 votes. He defeated Derek Lindsay, who received 252 votes.

Darlene Sibbeston was elected mayor of Fort Simpson, defeating incumbent Sean Whelly.

In Norman Wells, the mayor and council were acclaimed, but there was still an election for the education council. 

The CBC's Guy Quenneville was live-blogging from Yellowknife city hall as the results came in.