72 candidates declare for Nunavut election as nomination period closes

With the nomination period closed for the October 30 Nunavut election, races will take place in all but one of the territory's 22 constituencies.

Premier, Finance Minister not seeking re-election on October 30, only one race acclaimed

With the nomination period closed, races are set to begin for the Nunavut territorial election, which will take place October 30. (Sima Sahar Zerehi/CBC)

With the nomination period closed for the October 30 Nunavut election, races will take place in all but one of the territory's 22 constituencies.

A total of 72 candidates have declared for the election, with as many as nine vying for a seat in some races. The only constituency with an acclaimed candidate is Kugluktuk, where newcomer Mila Adjukak Kamingoak will run opposed.

Eighteen of the territory's 22 incumbent MLAs are seeking re-election. Not among them is Premier Peter Taptuna, who has represented the riding of Kugluktuk since 2008, or Keith Peterson, the outgoing Minister of Finance and Minister of Justice.

There are no political parties at the territorial level to help seek out candidates to run in Nunavut. The territory uses a consensus-style government, which means all candidates run as independents. The premier and cabinet are elected by MLAs at a forum a few weeks after the election, not directly by the electorate.

Jack Anawak, Jerry Natanine, and Cathy Towtongie are among those who have declared their candidacy for the 2017 Nunavut election. (CBC)

High profile faces among newcomers

There are a number of high-profile faces among the non-incumbent candidates who have declared.

Jack Anawak has returned to his home community of Naujaat to try and win the seat in the Aivilik constituency, made up of the communities of Coral Harbour and Naujaat. In the 2013 territorial election, he ran in the new constituency of Iqaluit-Niaqunnggu, but came in fourth with only 66 votes.

Anawak is a former Liberal Nunavut MP, but ran for the NDP in the 2015 federal election.

Jerry Natanine is running in the constituency of Uqqummiut, which represents the communities of Clyde River and Qikiqtarjuaq. Natanine is the former mayor of Clyde River and was the face of the community's Supreme Court fight for meaningful consultation with Indigenous groups.

Natanine has made past attempts to get into federal politics, seeking the NDP nomination in the 2015 federal election. At the time, he told CBC he was not selected due to controversial social media posts.

He also was disqualified from running for re-election as mayor after inadvertently owing money to the hamlet at the time of nominations.

Former Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated President Cathy Towtongie is running in Rankin Inlet North-Chesterfield Inlet. She served three terms as the head of the organization that represents Inuit in Nunavut.

Candidates can withdraw their nominations by 5 p.m. on Friday.

Below is the full list of individuals who have had their declarations of candidacy accepted by Elections Nunavut.

Aivilik (Coral Harbour and Naujaat)

  • Jack Anawak
  • ​Patterk Netser

Aggu (Igloolik)

  • Jerome Sheaves
  • Matt Teed
  • Richard Amarualik
  • ​Paul Quassa*

Amittuq (Igloolik and Hall Beach)

  • Solomon Angugasak Allurut
  • Paul Haulli  
  • George Quviq Qulaut*
  • Joelie Kaernerk
  • ​Jason Ikeperiar
  • Reena Akumalik Irqittuq
  • Erasmus Ivvalu

Arviat North-Whale Cove

  • George Kuksuk*
  • John Main

Arviat South

  • Joe Savikataaq*
  • Jason Gibbons

Baker Lake

  • Simeon Mikkungwak*
  • Karen Kabloona

Cambridge Bay

  • Jeannie Hakongak Ehaloak
  • Pamela Gross
  • Harry Maksagak

Gjoa Haven

  • Tony Akoak*
  • Paul Puqiqnak
  • ​Joseph Aglukkaq
  • ​James Taqaugaq Qitsualik

Hudson Bay (Sanikiluaq)

  • Peter Kattuk
  • Allan Rumbolt*
  • Peter Qavvik


  • Adam Arreak Lightstone
  • Monica Ell-Kanayuk*
  • Jude Lewis
  • Okalik Eegeesiak


  • Pat Angnakak*
  • Franco Buscemi
  • ​Anne Crawford


  • Paul Okalik*
  • Cindy Rennie
  • ​Elisapee Sheutiapik
  • Adamee Itorcheak


  • George Hickes*
  • Jacopoosie Peter


  • Mila Adjukak Kamingoak

Netsilik (Taloyoak and Kugaaruk)

  • Emiliano Qirngnuq*
  • Joe Tulurialik


  • Harry John Dialla
  • Margaret Nakashuk
  • Hezakiah Oshutapik
  • Johnny Mike*

Quttiktuq (Arctic Bay, Grise Fiord and Resolute)

  • Rachel A. Qitsualik-Tinsley
  • Leo Eecherk
  • ​Mishak Allurut
  • Andrew Taqtu
  • David Akeeagok 
  • Kataisee Attagutsiak
  • Isaac Shooyook*
  • Gary Kalluk
  • ​Mavis Manik

Rankin Inlet North - Chesterfield Inlet

  • Cedric Autut
  • Tom Sammurtok*
  • Cathy Towtongie
  • Douglas Aggark

Rankin Inlet South

  • Alexander Sammurtok*
  • Lorne Kusugak

South Baffin

  • David Joanasie*
  • Michael Salomonie

Tununiq (Pond Inlet)

  • Joe Enook
  • Jeannie Mills
  • David Qamaniq

Uqqummiut (Clyde River and Qikiqtarjuaq)

  • Jerry Natanine
  • ​Johnathan Palluq
  • Pauloosie Keyootak*