4 vie to be next president of Nunavut Tunngavik Inc.

Three challengers are hoping to unseat incumbent Cathy Towntongie in the upcoming election for president of Nunavut's land claims organization.

3 challenge incumbent Cathy Towtongie

President of Nunavut Tunngavik, Cathy Towtongie, is seen in her office in Iqaluit, Nunavut on Monday, December 8, 2014. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Sean Kilpatrick (Sean Kilpatrick/The Canadian Press)

Three people are running against the incumbent to become the next president of Nunavut's land claims organization.

Four candidates submitted their nomination papers by Friday's deadline, according to Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. 

They are:

  • Levinia Brown, a former MLA for Rankin Inlet South/Whale Cove;
  • Aluki Kotierk, a longtime civil servant with the Nunavut government;
  • Joe Adla Kunuk, a former CEO of Nunavut Tunngavik;
  • and incumbent Cathy Towtongie.

Candidates have until Nov. 7 to withdraw their papers. 

Eligible candidates and voters must be Canadian citizens, at least 16 years of age by Dec. 12, 2016, and enrolled as a beneficiary (or eligible to enroll) under the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement.

Voting day is Dec. 12.