5 candidates run for Netsilik MLA in Nunavut byelection

Five candidates have come forward to run for Netsilik MLA in a byelection. Candidate declaration period closed at 2 p.m. MT Friday January 8, 2016.

Five candidates have come forward to run for Netsilik MLA in a byelection. The candidate declaration period closed at 2 p.m. Mountain Time on Friday, January 8.

The five will vie to represent Kugaaruk and Taloyoak in the Nunavut legislature.

The candidates are:

  • Tars Angutingunirk, Kugaaruk
  • John Ningark, Kugaaruk
  • Emilino Qirngnuq, Kugaaruk
  • Joseph Quqqiaq, Taloyoak
  • ​Wesley Totalik Sr., Taloyoak

Candidates had until 5 p.m. MT on Friday, January 8th to withdraw from the race.

The previous Netsilik MLA, Jeannie Ugyuk, resigned her seat last November following a non-confidence vote on her performance as minister of Family Services.

The byelection will be held February 8.