N.W.T. MLAs vote to keep legislature at 19 seats

The CBC's Elizabeth McMillan live-tweeted from the legislative assembly as MLAs discussed whether to add new seats or move the electoral boundaries.

NWT electoral boundaries debate

9 years ago
Duration 3:09
CBC's Elizabeth McMillan reports from Yellowknife

After almost five hours of debate, the Northwest Territories legislative assembly voted 10-7 to keep the existing number of MLAs.

This means that before the next election, the electoral boundaries will be re-drawn.

An independent commission recommended re-distributing the population in Yellowknife ridings. It also recommended adding Ndilo and Dettah to the Tu Nedhe riding, which currently comprises Lutselk'e and Fort Resolution. Ndilo and Dettah are currently part of the Yellowknife riding of Weledeh.

The report said electoral boundaries need to change, in part, because the percentage of voters is too high in Yellowknife ridings

In 2006, MLAs debated a report by another independent commission and chose not to make any changes. 

The CBC's legislative reporter, Elizabeth McMillan, live tweeted the debate, starting at 1:30 p.m. MT, where MLAs considered three scenarios, for 18, 19 or 21 seats in the legislature. 


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Account Holder

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?