Jenkins seeks Dawson City mayor's job, again

Peter Jenkins, who has previously served as a Yukon Party MLA and mayor of Dawson City, says he's ready to step back into public life.

Peter Jenkins, who has previously served as a Yukon Party MLA and mayor of Dawson City, says he's ready to step back into public life.

Jenkins will challenge current Dawson City Mayor John Steins for his job when voters in the Klondike town and other Yukon municipalities go to the polls on Oct. 15.

"I believe I have something I could add to the community, and I believe that there's been a lot of people that have been asking me to put my name forward for the position of mayor," Jenkins told CBC News on Thursday morning, hours before nominations closed at noon PT.

"After careful consideration with my family, that's what I will be doing."

Jenkins, who owns a hotel in Dawson City, served as the community's mayor from 1980 to 1994.

Former cabinet minister

He was then the Yukon Party's MLA for Klondike from 1996 until 2005, when he left the party to sit as an Independent. He did not seek re-election in 2006.

While he was in the Yukon Party caucus, Jenkins held a number of cabinet positions, including health minister and deputy premier.

Jenkins said that if he's elected, the first thing he will do is get a handle on the town's finances and see what he can do to improve local facilities.

"I'd like to see Dawson move ahead and progress," Jenkins said.

"There's a wonderful opportunity in this community to provide all of the basic services that a municipal government provides, and it's all about the people, the community and growing the community."

For his part, Steins told CBC News he welcomes the challenge and is up for the competition.

Dawson City residents will only be voting for a mayor on election day, since the four-member council has been acclaimed: incumbents Rick Reimer and Ashley Doiron, along with Stephen Johnson and Wayne Potoroka.

Elections in other communities

In other Yukon communities, Mayor Scott Bolton and his four-member council have been acclaimed in Mayo.

In Watson Lake, Mayor Nancy Moore will face off against Robert Ellis and Richard Durocher, while 10 people are running for four council seats: incumbents Brenda Leach, Sharon Miller and Patti McLeod, as well as Raymond Laukkanen, Beverly Lister, Rick Relkoff, Stacy Bauer, Rich Harder, Howard Fick and Cynthia Armstrong.

Carmacks Mayor Elaine Wyatt has been acclaimed, but voters there will have to elect four councillors from a field of six: Tara Wheeler, John Laughlin Jr., Shwandna Wheeler, Karen Gage, Meta Bailie and incumbent Lee Brodie.

In Faro, current Mayor Michelle Vainio will run against Heather Campbell. Seven people are vying for four council seats: incumbents Jeanne Clarke George, Val Benoit and George Miller, as well as Michel Dupont, Doc Forbes, Diana Pauline Rogerson and Mickey Fisher.

Haines Junction Mayor George Nassiopoulos and two council members have been acclaimed, but there are still two vacant seats on council.

With files from Cheryl Kawaja