N.W.T. votes 2015 | South Slave MLAs unseated; Michael Nadli re-elected

Alfred Moses and Robert C. McLeod have been re-elected, while Herb Nakimayak may have unseated Jackie Jacobson in Nunakput and Wally Schumann has defeated Jane Groenewegen in Hay River South.

Recount expected in Nunakput, as Herb Nakimayak has 4-vote lead over Jackie Jacobson

Alfred Moses celebrates with his father after being re-elected MLA for Inuvik Boot Lake. (Philippe Morin/CBC)

Michael Nadli has been re-elected in Deh Cho, with a 18-vote lead over second-place finisher Ronald Bonnetrouge, according to unofficial results.

Nadli was suspended from the last assembly after he was sentenced to jail for an assault on his spouse.

Alfred Moses, Robert C. McLeod, Tom Beaulieu and Frederick Blake Jr. have also been re-elected, while Herb Nakimayak may have unseated Jackie Jacobson in Nunakput, Wally Schumann has defeated Jane Groenewegen in Hay River South and Louis Sebert has unseated Michael Miltenberger in Thebacha.

The results are available online on our election dashboard.


Nunakput, N.W.T.'s northernmost riding, comprises Tuktoyaktuk, Paulatuk, Ulukhaktok and Sachs Harbour.

Herb Nakimayak had just four votes more than incumbent Jackie Jacobson, 229 to 225. This will trigger an automatic recount according to N.W.T. election rules. Ethel-Jean Gruben came in third place with 169 votes with Robert Kuptana and John Stuart Jr. trailing behind.

Jacobson said he will be asking for a recount and he is questioning Nakimayak's N.W.T. residency.

"It states in the act you have to be in the community for six months prior to an election," he said.

"He was out of the community for seven months prior, working in Iqaluit. I brought that up so I just want to see it above board on everything. So we'll go from there."

Herb Nakimayak may have unseated Jackie Jacobson in Nunakput. Only five votes separate first from second place, and there will be an automatic recount under N.W.T. election rules. (submitted)

Alfred Moses has been re-elected in Inuvik Boot Lake with 366 votes to Dez Loreen's 47 votes.

Robert C. McLeod has been re-elected over challenger Jimmy Kalinek in Inuvik Twin Lakes. The final tally was 262 to 174.

In the Mackenzie Delta riding, which comprises Fort McPherson and Tsiigehtchic, incumbent Frederick Blake Jr. was re-elected with 313 votes and William Firth finished second with 137 votes. Norman Snowshoe had 116 votes and David Krutko garnered 86.


In the Sahtu riding, which comprises Norman Wells, Tulita, Fort Good Hope, Deline and Colville Lake, Danny McNeely won with 239 votes and Yvonne Doolittle is in second place with 227 votes. Judi Tutcho got 166 votes and Paul Andrew, 122.

North Slave

Incumbent Tom Beaulieu has been re-elected in Tu Nedhe-Wiilideh, with 410 votes to Richard Edjericon's 177. Tu Nedhe-Wiilideh is a new riding that comprises Fort Resolution, Lutselk'e, Ndilo and Dettah.

South Slave

Rocky (R.J.) Simpson won in Hay River North with 384 votes to incumbent Robert Bouchard's 264. Karen Felker was third with 89 votes. 

Wally Schumann was elected in Hay River South. Schumann won with 372 votes over incumbent Jane Groenewegen's 274 votes. Brian Willows finished third with 142 votes.

Deh Cho voters re-elected Michael Nadli, who was suspended from the last assembly after he was sentenced to jail for assault. (Submitted)

In Thebacha, Louis Sebert won with 401 votes to incumbent Michael Miltenberger's 363. Don Jaque trailed with 173 votes.

Deh Cho

Michael Nadli won the riding with 190 votes. Ronald Bonnetrouge finished second with 172. Greg Nyuli and Lyle Fabian got 66 and 40 votes respectively. The Deh Cho riding comprises the communities of Fort Providence, Kakisa, Hay River Reserve and Enterprise. 


Seven candidates were running in the Nahendeh riding, which comprises the communities of Fort Simpson, Fort Liard, Wrigley, Jean Marie River, Trout Lake and Nahanni Butte.

Shane Thompson was elected with 295 votes, Rosemary Gill was in second place with 200 votes, and Randall Sibbeston was in third place with 199 votes. Arnold Hope, Dëneze Nakehk'o and Dennis Nelner also challenged incumbent Kevin Menicoche.

On mobile? Follow the live blog here.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.