Here are the candidates for the 2018 Yellowknife municipal election

The City of Yellowknife has announced the candidates running in Yellowknife’s upcoming municipal election.

Election day is scheduled for Oct. 15

There are four candidates vying for mayor, and 16 candidates running for eight councillor positions. (Chantal Dubuc/CBC)

Nominations for the upcoming municipal election in Yellowknife closed Monday afternoon and the names of the candidates are now in.

Rebecca Alty, Adrian Bell, Jerald Sibbeston, and Bob Stewart are running for mayor.

There are eight councillor positions up for grabs. In the race for those positions are:

  • Mark Bogan
  • Josh Campbell
  • Edwin Castillo
  • John Dalton
  • Chris Gillander
  • William Gomes
  • Niels Konge (incumbent)
  • Dane Mason
  • Shauna Morgan (incumbent)
  • Julian Morse (incumbent)
  • Cynthia Mufandaedza
  • Steve Payne (incumbent)
  • Rommel Silverio (incumbent)
  • Stacie Smith
  • Terry Testart
  • Robin Williams

The election is scheduled for Oct. 15.

Voters who are expecting to be absent on election day can vote between Oct. 1 and 5.

Information about the election and voting is on the city's website.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.