Candidates announced for 6 N.W.T. municipal elections

Six N.W.T. communities have a list of candidates for mayor, council, and their District Education Authorities after nominations closed Monday afternoon.

Deadline was 3 p.m. Monday to submit nominations

The lists of municipal election candidates have been set for six N.W.T. communities, after a deadline for filing nomination papers passed Monday afternoon.

Yellowknife, Hay River, Fort Smith, Inuvik, Norman Wells and Fort Simpson will choose mayors and councillors Oct. 19 — the same day as the federal election.

In Yellowknife, the territory's capital, accountant John Himmelman has filed papers to challenge incumbent Mark Heyck in the race for mayor, and there are 15 candidates for eight seats on city council. The City of Yellowknife has published a full list of candidates on its website.

Ten candidates will stand for election as school trustees for Yellowknife's Education District No. 1, while nine trustee candidates have been confirmed for Yellowknife Catholic Schools. YK1 tweeted the final list of candidates for both districts — each have space for seven trustees — Monday afternoon.

Race on for mayor in Hay River, Fort Simpson, Fort Smith, Inuvik

In addition to Yellowknife, at least three Northwest Territories communities will see a mayoral race, as challengers have been confirmed in Hay River, Inuvik, and Fort Simpson.

Councillor Bradley Mapes will challenge incumbent mayor Andrew Cassidy in the community of Hay River. According to a press release issued by the Town of Hay River, eight nominations have been processed for eight seats on town council. Seven incumbent councillors — the entire current council, excluding Mapes — and newcomer Steve Anderson will all be acclaimed to positions once their nominations are made final. 

Seven nominations have been processed for the community's district education authority, which has seven seats. 

According to Fort Simpson's returning officer, the community is gearing up for a crowded race. Nineteen people have put their names forward for eight council seats, and 13 nominations have been processed for six seats on the community's district education authority, a number Fort Simpson's returning officer says is "one of the highest ever."

Three candidates have been confirmed for mayor of Fort Simpson: incumbent Sean Whelly will face challenges from Darlene Sibbeston and John Dempsey.

Fort Smith will also see a crowded field for mayor and council. Incumbent mayor Brad Brake will be challenged by Lynn Napier-Buckley, a current town councillor, as well as Don Matthews. Thirteen candidates have also been confirmed for eight seats on Fort Smith's town council.

In Inuvik, deputy mayor Jim McDonald and councillor Derek Lindsay will contest the mayor's chair, which was vacated by Floyd Roland after he was confirmed as the Conservative candidate in the 2015 federal election. Twelve candidates have also been confirmed in Inuvik for eight town council positions.

Only six nominations have been received for seven positions on Inuvik's district education authority. The Town has extended the nomination period until 3:00 p.m. on Sept. 28 to allow additional time for nominations.

Norman Wells sees mayor swap seats with councillor

The Town of Norman Wells received just enough nominations to fill its mayor's chair and six seats on council, and if their nominations aren't contested within the next 72 hours, all the candidates will be acclaimed.

Current mayor Gregor Herald McGregor has entered his name as a council candidate, while Nathan Watson, who is currently a councillor, will become the town's mayor.

Seven people have been nominated for six positions in Norman Wells' district education authority.

Residents have 72 hours from the filing deadline in each community to contest nominations for mayor, council and district education authority before they are finalized, while candidates have 48 hours to withdraw their names, if they choose to do so.

With files from Sonja Koenig


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?