Nfld. & Labrador

NDP celebrates historic gains

NDP Leader Lorraine Michael was re-elected in the Signal Hill-Quidi Vidi district. The party claimed a record five seats, just one behind the Liberals.
NDP leader Lorraine Michael, 68, on election day in St. John's on Tuesday. (CBC)

The NDP is celebrating a historic achievement in Newfoundland and Labrador by taking a record number of seats in the house of assembly.

After winning in five districts to the Liberals' six, the NDP narrowly missed forming the Official Opposition.

New Democratic Leader Lorraine Michael, the lone NDP incumbent, kept her seat in Signal Hill-Quidi Vidi on Tuesday.

"I'm excited with the whole team that we have," Michael said. "I can't say that I'm not disappointed but we are where we are and I'm going to make the best of it."

Michael, 68, has held her district since winning a 2006 byelection. She was a Roman Catholic nun but left the church after revelations of sexual abuse by religious leaders in the late 1980s and early 1990s.

Michael will be joined in caucus by:

  • Gerry Rogers in St. John's Centre.
  • Dale Kirby, the party president, St. John's North.
  • George Murphy in St. John's East.
  • Christopher Mitchelmore in The Straits-White Bay North.

The New Democrats had previously never held more than two seats in the house.

On Tuesday, the NDP came second in 23 districts.

At dissolution, the PCs held 43 of the 48 seats in the house of assembly, while the Liberals held four and the NDP one.