Nfld. & Labrador

Labrador byelection called for Penashue's former riding

Prime Minister Stephen Harper has announced that the byelection in Labrador will be held on May 13.
Prime Minister Stephen Harper has called the Labrador byelection for May 13. (Adrian Wyld/Canadian Press)

Prime Minister Stephen Harper announced on Sunday that the byelection in Labrador will be held on May 13.

Former MP Peter Penashue is the Conservative candidate for the byelection. Penashue resigned his seat in the House of Commons back in March amid revelations that his 2011 campaign wrongfully accepted more than two-dozen ineligible campaign contributions.

Penashue was elected to the seat in 2011, unseating Liberal Todd Russell by just 79 votes.

Russell made the decision in late March not to run, following an announcement from long-time provincial MHA Yvonne Jones that she would be seeking the Liberal nomination.

Jones has served the Labrador riding of Cartwright-L'Anse au Clair for 17 years. During that time, she fought breast cancer and was back in the House of Assembly while undergoing radiation treatment two years ago.

She said she would resign her seat as MHA once the byelection was called.

The NDP elected Harry Borlase from Happy Valley-Goose Bay to run as their candidate amid pleas from the federal Green Party not to put a candidate in play.

Green Party Leader Elizabeth May was trying to end the vote-splitting that she said has benefitted the Conservatives in past elections.