Nfld. & Labrador

Hey Rosetta! sweeps MusicNL awards

St. John's-based indie band Hey Rosetta! was the runaway winner Sunday at the annual MusicNL awards show.

St. John's-based indie band Hey Rosetta! was the runaway winner Sunday night at the annual awards show honouring the best in Newfoundland and Labrador music.

Hey Rosetta! won in four different MusicNL categories, including group and album of the year, for its latest release, Seeds.

Currently touring in Australia, Hey Rosetta! was unable to attend the ceremonies.

The band also won in the alternative album category, and for songwriting for the tune Yer Spring.

The breakout winner was singer Andrew James O'Brien, whose debut album Songs For Searchers was released just months ago. O'Brien won in the male artist, pop-rock artist or group and rising star categories.

"It's overwhelming and [I'm] just trying to find the words to articulate how amazing it actually feels," O'Brien said.

"It's very humbling and also, it's definitely gratifying to know that people consider my work worth listening to."

Shanneyganock won in two categories: in the Celtic-traditional category, and as the fan-voted choice of entertainer of the year.

St. John's singer Colleen Power, whose recent work has stretched genres, won as female singer of the year for her collaboration with the bluegrass band Crooked Stovepipe, For Little Ones.

Veteran singer-songwriter Ron Hynes won in the folk/roots category, Craig Young won as the country artist and Dan Bursey won in the gospel category.

Sandy Morris, who has been playing in the local music scene for more than four decades, won as side musician of the year.

"I want to accept this on behalf of all the cool cats that I've played with over the years," Morris said. "The guys who play, you know, at the Legion, the guys who play for weddings and never get their name in the paper unless they do something really bad."

Tom Power, host of CBC Radio 2's Deep Roots, won as media person of the year, while Fred's Records — an iconic music shop in downtown St. John's — won the industry builder award.

Jud Haynes won as both volunteer and industry professional of the year, Brad Power won as educator of the year, and Bernard Woodfine was named "unsung hero."