Nfld. & Labrador

Fortunate Ones, The Once, Kat McLevey big winners at MusicNL awards

MusicNL celebrated some of the province's greatest musical talents Sunday, as it presented out its 2015 Music and Industry Awards.
While still a high school student in 2015, singer-songwriter Kat McLevey won two MusicNL awards. (CBC)

MusicNL celebrated some of the province's greatest musical talents Sunday, as it presented out its 2015 Music and Industry Awards.

Folk/pop duo Fortunate Ones were big winners, taking home album of the year for their record, "The Bliss," as well as the award for group of the year, roots recording of the year, and songwriter of the year.

Fortunate Ones, a.k.a. Catherine Allan & Andrew James O’Brien, took home album of the year and group of the year at the 2015 MusicNL awards. (CBC)

Folk trio The Once was crowned entertainer of the year, and also received the Nickel music video of the year award for "We Are All Running."

Singer-songwriter Kat McLevey won female artist of the year, as well as rising star of the year.

Aaron Collis and Duane Andrews won the celtic/traditional album of the year award for "The Mallard Cottage Sessions."

St. John's modern rock group Waterfront Fire won their first ever MusicNL award for alternative album of the year, for "First Light."

Jud Haynes, who designed the cover art for Chris Hadfield's first album, won graphic artist of the year.

Adam Baxter won music educator of the year and Scott Hammond won industry professional of the year.

Tom Cochrane won media person of the year.

Most of the awards were presented during an awards brunch at the Delta Hotel on Sunday morning.

MusicNL week ends with a large show at the Delta Hotel ballroom on Sunday night.

Full list of winners:

  • FACTOR Album of the Year:  Fortunate Ones
  • Alternative Recording of the Year: Waterfront Fire
  • VOCM Celtic/Traditional Recording of the Year: Aaron Collis and Duane Andrews
  • Country Recording of the Year: Dave McHugh
  • Denis Parker Industry Builder Award: Jen Winsor
  • George Street Association Entertainer of the Year: The Once
  • Female Artist of the Year: Kat McLevey
  • The Telegram Folk/Roots Recording of the Year: Fortunate Ones
  • Group of the Year: Fortunate Ones
  • Instrumental Recording of the Year: Ouroboros
  • Classic Hits, Coast 101.1 FM Jazz/Blues Recording of the Year: Denis Parker and the Modern Saints
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Harry Martin
  • DC Design House Male Artist of the Year: Jerry Stamp
  • The Nickle Music Video of the Year: The Once
  • Molson/Coors Pop/Rock Recording of the Year: Mick Davis
  • Bell Alliant Rising Star of the Year: Kat McLevey
  • SOCAN Songwriter of the Year: Fortunate Ones
  • Unsung Hero Award: Lindy Whitt
  • Graphic Artist of the Year: Jud Haynes
  • Industry Professional of the Year: Scott Hammond
  • Side Musician of the Year: Chad Murphy
  • Outstanding Company of the Year: The Blue Room
  • Media Person of the Year: Tom Cochrane
  • Music Educator of the Year: Adam Baxter
  • Volunteer of the Year: Paul Heppleston


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?