Watch the 2020 ECMAs streaming on CBC Gem

Watch a special broadcast of the 2020 East Coast Music Awards streaming on CBC Gem.

The show features 12 musical performances and 9 ECMA award presentations


Music from around the region was celebrated during a special broadcast of the 2020 East Coast Music Awards on July 11. The pre-recorded show aired at 9 p.m. AT / 9:30 NT on CBC TV in Atlantic Canada and on CBC Gem across the country. It is now available to stream on demand on CBC Gem.

On Friday afternoon, the 2020 ECMA Pre-awards Show announced the winners in 19 ECMA categories during a Facebook and YouTube broadcast with CBC host, Bill Roach. Find the names of winners and nominees, and a link to the stream here.

ECMA Performance: Rose Cousins with The Benefits of Being Alone, just one of many incredible East Coast performances that make up the 2020 ECMA show:

Performance from the broadcast of ECMA and Juno-award winning group, Neon Dreams:

About the 2020 ECMAs

Hosted by Mary Walsh, the re-imagined awards show featured performances by Tim Baker, Rose Cousins, Wintersleep, Damnhait Doyle, Matt Mays, Neon Dreams, Motherhood, Eastern Owl, Zamani, Jacobus, and Shanneyganock. A tribute to the legendary Ron Hynes in celebration of his induction into the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame also took place.

Nine East Coast Music Awards were given out over the course of the broadcast: Album of the Year, the Bucky Adams Memorial Award, Francophone Recording of the Year, Indigenous Artist of the Year, Roots/Traditional Recording of the Year, Solo Recording of the Year, Songwriter of the Year, Fans' Choice Entertainer of the Year, and Fans' Choice Video of the Year. The Dr. Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award - an Honourary Award that recognizes artists who have had a profound and lasting effect on the Atlantic Canadian Music Industry - was also presented.

Weekend Mornings in the Maritimes and Weekend AM in Newfoundland and Labrador, handed out this year's Stompin' Tom Awards Saturday morning. The recipients are:

  • Kinnon & Betty Beaton (Cape Breton)
  • Chuck Teed (N.B.)
  • Wonderful Grand Band (N.L.)
  • Brent Williams (N.S.)
  • Paul Bernard (P.E.I.)

For more information about the nominees and winners visit the ECMA website.