Nfld. & Labrador

Here & Now takes Canadian Screen Award for best local newscast

CBC's Here & Now has won best local newscast at this year's Canadian Screen Awards.

Awards presented in Toronto recognize best in broadcast journalism

Meteorologist Ryan Snoddon, host Debbie Cooper and producer Lee Pitts were on hand to receive the Canadian Screen Award for Best Local Newscast. (Lee Pitts/Twitter)

CBC's Here & Now has taken home the Best Local Newscast award at the 2017 Canadian Screen Awards.

Here & Now beat out three other nominees for the honour, with the CBC's Lee Pitts, Jen White, Debbie Cooper, Jonathan Crowe, Ryan Snoddon and Rod Dobbin named as co-recipients.

Host Debbie Cooper said the win was a nod to the work the team does every day.

"This is such an honour and it's such a welcome recognition of local programming," she said. "Here & Now is such a valuable asset in our province. We have loyal viewers and we're so happy we've gained their trust."

The prizes are presented by the Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television to recognize excellence in Canadian film, English language television and digital media productions.

CBC's Here & Now has been named Best Local Newscast at the Canadian Screen Awards. Hosts Debbie Cooper, Ryan Snoddon and former host Jonathan Crowe were listed as co-recipients. (CBC)

Pitts, who was the show's producer before moving to CBC Toronto in the fall, relished the chance to reunite with his former crew.

"I'm going to miss these guys. I miss working with them every day," Pitts said. "We do this for the audience every day. Without the audience we really don't have a show. This really is also for them, because we're telling their stories and they're coming to us for their stories."

Here & Now hosts Cooper, Crowe and Snoddon, along with July's Beaumont-Hamel 100th anniversary special were also nominated for awards in other categories.

Best news special and best local news anchor

The Beaumont-Hamel 100 Remembrance, which CBC produced in July for the 100th anniversary of the infamous First World War battle, was up for the Best News Special award.

The CBC's Peter Gullage, Lee Pitts, Christina Mayo, Rod Dobbin, Anthony Germain and Heather Hiscox are all co-recipients of the nomination.

The award was taken by Global News' Fort McMurray wildfire evacuation story.

Meanwhile, Here & Now hosts Ryan Snoddon and Debbie Cooper, along with former host Jonathan Crowe, were nominated in the Best News Anchor Local award.

CTV's Daryl McIntyre took that prize.