New Brunswick

Measha Brueggergosman among 10 named to receive Order of New Brunswick

Ten New Brunswickers have been named as the 2017 recipients of the Order of New Brunswick including Measha Brueggergosman

The recipients will be honored in September at Government House

Measha Brueggergosman is one of 10 New Brunswickers named to the Order of New Brunswick for 2017.

Ten New Brunswickers have been named as the 2017 recipients of the Order of New Brunswick including Canadian soprano Measha Brueggergosman. 

Premier Brian Gallant made the announcement at the official New Brunswick Day celebrations in Edmundston, N.B. Monday. 

"A big part of what makes this province so special is our people. Congratulations to all of the recipients being named to the Order of New Brunswick," said Gallant in a statement. 

The recipients are:

  • Normand Caissie - from Richibucto, for his outstanding work in the economic development of his community and the province.
  • Raimo Kokkonen -  from Trout Book, for his dedicated commitment to the advancement of the biathlon sport in New Brunswick and for his dedicated service in support of veterans.
  • Susan Chalmers-Gauvin - from Riverview, for her passion and vision to create Atlantic Canada's first professional ballet company thereby enhancing the province's economic potential as well as its cultural diversity and artistic excellence.
  • Jacqueline Webster - from Fredericton, for her impact on the social and cultural life of New Brunswick through her contribution to the field of journalism.
  • Dr. Michael Perley - from Woodstock First Nation, for his devotion and exemplary patient care, for his contribution to the province's medical community and his involvement with First Nations communities to ensure the improved delivery of health services.
  • Measha Brueggergosman - from Fredericton, for her achievements in the performing arts and for her contribution to the music community and industry in New Brunswick.
  • Léopold Thériault - from Tracadie, for being an outstanding leader in steel-structure manufacturing and for his legendary generosity, community engagement and commitment to youth.
  • Donat Lacroix- from Caraquet, for his outstanding contribution to the promotion of Acadian and francophone culture and traditions through his music.
  • Erminie Cohen - from Saint John, for her outstanding impact on adoption, her dedication and commitment to volunteerism and her compassion in helping change the lives of New Brunswick's most vulnerable.
  • Richard J. Currie - from Rothesay, as a business leader and for his contributions to the social, economic and cultural fabric of New Brunswick through his dedication and significant support of public education.

The recipients will be presented with their awards at Government House in Fredericton this fall.