New Brunswick

Liberals gain one in northern stronghold on an otherwise disappointing night 

The Liberal Party was able to hold on to its fortress in the northern part of the province, even gaining a seat, but it wasn't enough to help the party stave off the Progressive Conservatives from forming government.

Shippagan-Lamèque-Miscou switches to red after Robert Gauvin's resignation

Voters line up in Tracadie-Sheila to cast their ballots in Monday's provincial election. (Tori Weldon/CBC)

The Liberal Party was able to hold onto its fortress in the northern part of the province Monday night, even gaining a seat, but it wasn't enough to help the party stave off the Progressive Conservatives from forming government.

The Liberals secured 10 of the predominantly francophone northern seats on a night that saw their numbers drop and their leader fail to secure a spot in the legislative assembly. 

While the PCs are riding the high of a majority government win, they weren't able to win a seat again in the northern part of the province, a sign Premier Blaine Higgs continues to have trouble resonating with francophone voters. The top third of the province is now a stark strip of red on the electoral map.


Liberal candidate Éric Mallet helped turn Shippagan-Lamèque-Miscou red after former PC cabinet minister Robert Gauvin quit the party and ran a winning campaign as a Liberal in the riding of Shediac Bay-Dieppe in the southeast. 

But Mallet's win wasn't enough to help push the Liberals out of Opposition territory.  

Mallet dominated the night with 6,834 votes compared to PC candidate Jean-Gérard Chiasson's 714. The Greens rounded out the podium with 609 votes.

Gauvin quit the cabinet in February over the government's proposed hospital reforms that would have closed six emergency departments at night.

Madawaska Les Lacs-Edmundston

Liberal candidate Francine Landry will be returning to the legislature with 66.5 per cent of the votes, compared to the PC candidate's 25.6 per cent. 

The Greens finished third with less than eight per cent.

Edmundston Madawaska Centre

Liberal incumbent Jean-Claude D'Amours had a strong showing in Edmundston-Madawaska Centre with more than 5,236 votes by night's end.

The PCs mustered 1,380 votes, while the Greens received 415.

Restigouche West

For a third time in a row, Liberal incumbent Gilles LePage will represent Restigouche West in the house.

The former Gallant-era cabinet minister won with 62.2 per cent, pulling far ahead of Green candidate Charles Thériault, with 21.7 per cent.

PC candidate Louis Bérubé, who was allowed to stay on the ballot, despite derogatory comments he posted online in reference to federal Bill C-16, which enacted protections for the transgender community, trailed in third. 


Liberal incumbent Guy Arsenault delivered another landslide in Campbellton-Dalhousie with 4,540 votes. The PCs managed 1,369 votes and the Green Party 1,054.

Restigouche Chaleur

Liberal incumbent Daniel Guitard will hold on to his seat with 55.7 per cent of the vote. Green candidate Marie Larivière trailed in second followed by PC candidate Louis Robichaud.

Bathurst West-Beresford

Bathurst West-Beresford voters have once again voted Liberal this time voting in René Legacy after Liberal MLA Brian Kenny chose not to re-offer.

The Liberals held on to 55 per cent of the vote, followed by the PCs at nearly 30 per cent and the Greens at 14.

Bathurst East-Nepisiguit-Saint-Isidore

Liberal incumbent Denis Landry will once again represent Bathurst East-Nepisiguit-Saint-Isidore in the upcoming legislature after securing nearly 64 per cent of the vote.

The PCs trailed with 24 per cent and the Greens managed 12 per cent.


Liberal incumbent Isabelle Thériault secured the riding of Caraquet in a landslide, winning more than 72 per cent of the vote.

The Greens finished a distant second with about 16 per cent of the vote, followed by the PCs with 12.


Liberal incumbent Keith Chiasson will retain his Tracadie-Sheila seat with a dominating 6,175 votes.

Diane Carey came second with 2,059 votes and then the Greens with 645.

New Brunswick Votes 2020 Results: See our interactive results page.  


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.