New Brunswick Votes

Liberal wave ousts 9 cabinet ministers

Of the 17 cabinet ministers in New Brunswick's outgoing Progressive Conservative government, eight will be returning to the Legislative Assembly.

A number of cabinet ministers are holding on to their seats in the Legislative Assembly in the New Brunswick election. (Andrew Vaughan/Canadian Press)

Of the 17 cabinet ministers in New Brunswick's outgoing Progressive Conservative government, eight will be returning to the Legislative Assembly. With exact vote numbers still to be found and counted, it appears Brian Gallant's Liberals won a majority government on Monday night.

Here is a list of cabinet ministers and how they fared in their districts:

District Minister Portfolio Results
Moncton Centre Marie-Claude Blais Education and Early Childhood Development, Women’s Equality Defeated
Oromocto-Lincoln Jody Carr Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour Re-elected
Edmundston-Madawaska Centre  Madeleine (Mado) Dubé Social Development Re-elected
Riverview R. Bruce Fitch Economic Development Re-elected
Rothesay Hugh J. (Ted) Flemming Health Re-elected
Quispamsis Blaine Higgs  Finance Re-elected
Portland-Simonds Trevor A. Holder Tourism, Heritage and Culture Re-elected
Fredericton South Craig Leonard  Energy and Mines Defeated
Fredericton North Troy Lifford Justice Defeated
Sussex-Fundy-St. Martins  Bruce Northrup Public Safety Re-elected
Memramcook-Tantramar  Michael Olscamp Agriculture, Aquaculture and Fisheries Defeated
Shippagan-Lameque-Miscou Paul Robichaud Natural Resources, Rural Affairs Defeated
Saint John Lancaster Dorothy Shephard Healthy and Inclusive Communities Re-elected
Victoria-la-Vallée Danny Soucy Environment and Local Government Defeated
Moncton South Sue Stultz Government Services Defeated
Miramichi Robert B. Trevors Human Resources Defeated
Kent South Claude Williams Transportation and Infrastructure Defeated