New Brunswick

Full list of new local government names

The province has announced the official names of the provinces 77 local governments and 12 rural districts.

New names were given after province's local governance reform

New Brunswick communities have been given some new (and not so new) names. (Daniel McHardie/CBC News file photo)

The New Brunswick government has announced the proposed names 77 local governments and 12 rural districts.

The new municipalities were created as a result of the Higgs government's local governance reform.

Here's a list of all the new local government names:


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?