New Brunswick

Fredericton area awash in colours as 4 parties send MLAs to legislature

Find out what's happened in these central New Brunswick ridings: Fredericton-Grand Lake, Fredericton South, Fredericton North, Fredericton York, Fredericton West- Hanwell, Oromocto-Lincoln-Fredericton, Gagetown-Petitcodiac, New Maryland-Sunbury and Carleton-York.

A look at some of the winners and losers in the ridings that make up Fredericton and surrounding areas

Progressive Conservative Mary E. Wilson wins Oromocto-Lincoln-Fredericton riding. (Julia Wright / CBC)

The capital area saw it all on Monday night — a lot of blue, but also some red, green and purple.

The Progressive Conservatives claimed five of the nine ridings in and around Fredericton, the Green Party and Liberals took one each, and the People's Alliance won two.

In the previous legislature, the Progressive Conservatives held seven of nine ridings in the area, after the Green Party claimed the Fredericton South seat and the Liberals won in Fredericton North.

This time, two formerly PC ridings went to the People's Alliance.

Although there was some variety in the top four places across the nine ridings, the NDP consistently came in fifth, with its best showing in Carleton-York, where it won three per cent of the vote.

People's Alliance Leader Kris Austin was an early winner Monday night in Fredericton-Grand Lake. (Jonathan Collicott/CBC News)

Fredericton-Grand Lake

Early on election night, Alliance Leader Kris Austin captured Fredericton-Grand Lake, beating PC Pam Lynch by more than 2,000 votes and collecting 54.6 per cent of the vote. Lynch had held the seat since 2010.

Liberal Wendy Tremblay came third with 10.0 per cent of the vote, Dan Weston of the Green Party got 5.4 per cent, and Glenna Hanley of the NDP 1.3 per cent.

In Fredericton York

Rick DeSaulniers of the People's Alliance won 33.7 per cent of the vote, defeating Kirk MacDonald, who'd held the seat for the Tories since 1999 and won 30.0 per cent of the vote.

Also running were Liberal Amber Bishop, with 18.4 per cent, Amanda Wildeman of the Green Party with 15.5 per cent, and Evelyne Godfrey of the NDP with 1.1

As PCs claim victory, Liberals try to hold onto power. 1:40

Fredericton South

Green Party Leader David Coon was re-elected in Fredericton South with 56.3 per cent of the vote, with the second-place finisher, Liberal Susan Holt, far behind with 20.1 per cent of the vote.

Scott Smith of the PCs was next with 13.7 per cent, followed by Bonnie Mae Clark, at 8.1 per cent, and Chris Durrant of the NDP, at 1.7.

Fredericton North

Liberal Stephen Horsman, the deputy premier and minister of families and children, led the way with 31.6 per cent of the vote, 261 votes ahead of Progressive Conservative Jill Green. 

In third place was Lynn King, with 21.4 per cent, followed by Tamara White at 17 per cent, and Scarlett Tays of the NDP, with 1.8 per cent.

Former NDP leader turned Progressive Conservative Dominic Cardy wins Fredericton-West Hanwell. (Ed Hunter/CBC)

Fredericton West-Hanwell

Dominic Cardy, a former leader of the New Brunswick NDP, grabbed 31.8 per cent of the vote to win Fredericton West-Hanwell for the Progressive Conservatives, ahead of Liberal Cindy Miles, with 27.9 per cent.

Jason Paull of the People's Alliance was next with 20.9 per cent of the vote, followed by Green candidate Susan Jonah with 17.3, and Olivier Hébert of the NDP with two per cent.


The PCs' Ross Wetmore won with 45.7 per cent of the vote, almost double his closest opponent, Craig Dykeman of the People's Alliance, at 23.5 per cent.

Back in third was Liberal Brigitte Noel, with 14.3 per cent, followed by Marilyn Merritt-Gray of the Greens, with 13.6 per cent, and New Democrat Anne Marie Richardson, with 2.1 per cent.

New Maryland-Sunbury 

Jeff Carr won again in New Maryland-Sunbury for the Progressive Conservatives with 41.2 per cent. People's Alliance candidate Morris Shannon and Liberal Alex Scholten were next with 23.7 per cent each.

Green candidate Jenica Atwin got 9.7 per cent, and New Democrat Mackenzie Thomason 1.5 per cent.


PC Carl Urquhart was re-elected in Carleton-York with 37.2 per cent of the vote, ahead of Gary Lemmon of the People's Alliance, with 30.8 per cent.

In third was Liberal Jackie Morehouse, with 18.5 per cent, Green Sue Rickards with 10 per cent, and Robert Kitchen of the NDP with three.


Mary Wilson hung onto Oromocto-Lincoln-Fredericton for the Tories with 32 per cent of the vote, in the first election since 1993 when Jody Carr hasn't run. 

Star candidate John Fife, a retired army colonel, was 93 votes behind, winning 30.7 per cent of the vote. Next was Craig Rector of the People's Alliance, with 23.2 per cent of the vote, followed by Tom McLean of the Greens with 12 per cent, and Justin Young of the NDP with 2.1.

Subscribe to our election newsletter

Get the latest election updates delivered right to your inbox with The 506er. Subscribe here. And then let us know what you think by emailing us:


  • A previous version of this story said Jody Carr started running in provincial politics in 1991. In fact, he started in 1993 and was first elected in 1999.
    Sep 25, 2018 9:02 AM AT