New Brunswick

Liberals sweep New Brunswick's 10 ridings

The Liberals have been elected in all 10 of New Brunswick's ridings as early results come in across the province.

Liberals take all 10 ridings in the province

Liberal supporters celebrate in Fredericton as Matt DeCourcey defeat Tory Keith Ashfield. (Julianne Hazlewood/CBC)

The Liberals have swept New Brunswick in Monday night's election, taking all 10 of the province's ridings.

The Liberals have knocked off several Conservative incumbents, including two cabinet ministers, and took back a riding that had been held by the NDP for nearly 20 years.

The province's strong showing foretold what would later unfold across the country as Justin Trudeau's Liberals won a majority government.

The Liberals won 51.4 per cent of the vote in the federal election, followed by 25.5 per cent for the Conservatives and 18.3 per cent for the NDP.

Liberal Dominic LeBlanc was the first New Brunswick MP declared elected on Monday night, easily holding his riding of Beausejour with 68.7 per cent of the vote.

LeBlanc said the massive gains made by the Liberals are a credit to Justin Trudeau's popularity in the province.

"Our leader, Justin Trudeau is immensely popular in Atlantic Canada. He has always had an ability to reach Atlantic Canadians at a very emotional level, he has spent a lot of time here, he is well known here," LeBlanc said.

Saint John Liberals celebrate the victory of Wayne Long. (Brian Chisholm/CBC)
"We also had very good candidates nominated here for a number of months."

When the 78-day campaign started, the Conservatives held eight ridings, while the Liberals and NDP each held one seat.

The Liberals saw their vote collapse in several ridings during the 2011 election. That turned around in Monday's election as the party recaptured the ridings they lost in 2011.

Liberal René Arseneault was elected in Madawaska-Restigouche, defeating Conservative cabinet minister Bernard Valcourt.

Conservative Bernard Valcourt finished third in Madawaska-Restigouche, losing to Liberal René Arseneault. (Jacques Poitras/CBC)
Valcourt, who served as the aboriginal affairs minister, dropped to third place, behind the NDP's Rosaire L'Italien.

When asked by reporters what happened to the Conservatives, Valcourt said 10 years in government caught up to the party.

"It's not surprising voters would make that choice," Valcourt said.

"I can't perform an autopsy of the campaign at this point."

In Moncton-Riverview-Dieppe, Liberal Ginette Petitpas Taylor defeated Conservative Robert Goguen. Goguen was elected in 2011 in a tight three-way race in the riding.

Victorious Liberal candidate Ginette Petitpas Taylor addresses supporters after Monday's election win. (Jen Choi/CBC)
Robert Goguen said he thought his electoral loss could be chalked up to a movement for change.

He said it was also possible that some people voted strategically.

Liberal Matt DeCourcey was elected in Fredericton, defeating Conservative Keith Ashfield. 

Ashfield had been a Conservative cabinet minister before giving up his position because of health issues.

"I'm disappointed," Ashfield said.

"I'm surprised. The tides have changed. Maybe retirement is next."

The Liberals managed to win in the northeastern riding of Acadie-Bathurst.

Liberal Serge Cormier defeated the NDP's Jason Godin, who was trying to hold the riding after the retirement of long-time NDP MP Yvon Godin.

Liberal Alaina Lockhart won in Fundy Royal, defeating Conservative Rob Moore in the Tory stronghold. (Redmond Shannon/CBC)
Acadie-Bathurst was the only NDP seat in the province.

Liberal Pat Finnigan was elected in Miramichi-Grand Lake, defeating incumbent Conservative Tilly O'Neill-Gordon.

In Saint John-Rothesay, Liberal candidate Wayne Long also defeated the incumbent Conservative, Rodney Weston.

The Liberals also broke into Conservative strongholds.

Liberal T.J. Harvey took Tobique-Mactaquac, Liberal Karen Ludwig defeated Conservative John Williamson in New Brunswick Southwest, and in Fundy Royal, Liberal Alaina Lockhart defeated long-time Conservative incumbent, Rob Moore.

Moore was the minister for the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency.

The outgoing Conservative MP said he could sense there was a "bit of a shift in the last week."


Daniel McHardie

Digital senior producer

Daniel McHardie is the digital senior producer for CBC New Brunswick. He joined in 2008. He also co-hosts the CBC political podcast Spin Reduxit.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?