New Brunswick

Brian Gallant drops 3 senior ministers in cabinet shuffle

With the next provincial election about a year away, Premier Brian Gallant has shuffled his cabinet shuffle, moving out three senior ministers who are not expected to run again and giving himself responsibility for Saint John.

Donald Arseneault, Victor Boudreau and Ed Doherty are leaving cabinet

Premier Brian Gallant announced a cabinet shuffle on Tuesday in Saint John. (CBC)

With the next provincial election roughly a year away, Premier Brian Gallant has announced a major cabinet shuffle that has seen three senior ministers step aside who are not expected to run again.

"We have a strong team working on New Brunswick's priorities of jobs, education, and health care," said Gallant in a statement.

"These changes will allow new perspectives and approaches to be used in advancing economic growth, educational opportunities, and health care innovation."

Donald Arseneault, Victor Boudreau and Ed Doherty are leaving cabinet.

As Service New Brunswick minister, Doherty had been caught up in the controversy over property assessments. Doherty secured a narrow victory in 2014 following a recount.

Meanwhile, Boudreau had been a senior minister in the governments of Gallant and Shawn Graham. But he was also heavily criticized during the Atcon controversy and for his involvement with a campground in his riding.

Arseneault has served in a number of high-profile portfolios during the Graham and Gallant governments.

Three Liberal cabinet ministers announced they were leaving politics on Tuesday. Donald Arseneault, Ed Doherty and Victor Boudreau said they will remain as MLAs until the next election. (CBC)
The exit of those long-time cabinet ministers is making room for three newcomers.

Benoit Bourque is moving into a high-profile position as minister of Health.

Meanwhile, Andrew Harvey is the new minister of agriculture, mines and rural affairs and Gilles LePage is the minister of labour, employment and population growth.

The premier also set out what was described as an informal set of regional ministers. Gallant has made himself the regional minister for Saint John and southwestern New Brunswick.

Serge Rousselle is the regional minister of northern New Brunswick, Bill Fraser is the regional minister of central New Brunswick, Stephen Horsman is the regional minister for greater Fredericton and Cathy Rogers is the regional minister for greater Moncton and southeastern New Brunswick.

The cabinet shuffle was announced in Saint John on Tuesday morning.

The full cabinet is:

  • Premier Brian Gallant
  • Deputy Premier Stephen Horsman, Families and Children
  • Denis Landry, Justice and Public Safety 
  • Rick Doucet, Aquaculture and Fisheries, Energy and Resource Development
  • Brian Kenny, Education
  • Bill Fraser, Transportation and Infrastructure
  • Roger Melanson, Treasury Board and Post-Secondary Education
  • Francine Landry, Economic Development
  • Cathy Rogers, Finance
  • Serge Rousselle, Environment and Local Government and Attorney General
  • John Ames, Tourism, Heritage and Culture
  • Lisa Harris, Seniors and Long-term care
  • Benoit Bourque, Health
  • Andrew Harvey, Agriculture, Mines and Rural Affairs
  • Gilles LePage, Labour, Employment and Population Growth


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?