Spotlight on Montreal ridings: Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie

Not loyal to one party, voters in Rosemont–La Petite-Patrie have elected Progressive Conservative, Liberal, Bloc Québécois and NDP MPs over the riding's nearly 40-year history.

Can the NDP hold on to the seat after the 2011 Orange Wave upset in the riding?

Not loyal to one party, voters in Rosemont–La Petite-Patrie have elected Progressive Conservative, Liberal, Bloc Québécois and NDP MPs in the riding's nearly 40-year history.

But few could have predicted how fast the tide would turn for the longtime MP in the last election. 

Bloc Québécois MP Bernard Bigras won a fifth term by a considerable margin in 2008.

But by 2011, his landslide victory by a 50 per cent margin in the previous election dissolved into a staggering loss – by 9,782 votes – to the NDP's Alexandre Boulerice.

Boulerice, a former television journalist and union activist, will try and secure his seat again this year. However, with no fewer than eight candidates in the riding, he has significant competition for the job.

The Bloc is running journalist Claude André in Rosemont–La Petite-Patrie, and the Liberals nominated author and composer Nadine Medawar. 

The Conservatives had to find a last-minute replacement after their original candidate was forced to resign over comments he allegedly made in the online-comments section of the Journal de Montreal newspaper. Jeremy Dohan, now in the race for the Conservatives, is the president of Conservative Concordia.

This largely francophone riding consists of the portion of Rosemont–La Petite-Patrie that lies southwest of Pie-IX Boulevard.

Riding History

  • Riding established in 1976.
  • Has been held by the Liberals, Progressive Conservatives, Bloc and NDP.

Riding snapshot

Population: 100,915 (2011 Census) 

Mother tongue: French (77.5 per cent), English (3.9 per cent), non-official languages (18.6 per cent; largest linguistic groups are Spanish, Arabic, Italian and Portuguese)

Average household income: $71,888 (2011 National Household Survey)

Results last election​​

NDP  27,484
Bloc Québécois 17,706
Liberal  5,119
Conservative 2,328
Green 891
Rhinoceros 420
Marxist-Leninist 140

Candidates 2015

See other key ridings


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?