Quebec public sector strikes: 37,000 provincial civil servants walk out Tuesday

Teachers at the Central Quebec and Eastern Shores school boards are among thousands of public sector workers striking Tuesday, with civil servants at most government ministries and parapublic provincial agencies joining in.

Central Quebec, Eastern Shores school boards among those hit by teachers' strikes Tuesday

      1 of 0

      Teachers at the Central Quebec and Eastern Shores school boards are among thousands of public sector workers striking Tuesday, with schools closed in Quebec City, Gaspé and the Magdalen Islands.

      In addition, 37,000 civil servants working in most provincial government ministries and dozens of parapublic agencies, including RAMQ and the SAAQ, are on the picket line Tuesday.

      Among the CEGEPs closed Tuesday: Champlain College St. Lawrence in Quebec City, as well as French-language CEGEPs in Quebec City, Lac Mégantic, Baie-Comeau, Sept-Îles, Gaspé, the Chaudières-Appalaches region and across the Lower St-Lawrence.

      Health-care establishments and French-language schools are also closed in the following regions:

      • Quebec City
      • Lower St-Lawrence
      • North Shore
      • Gaspé and the Magdalen Islands
      • Chaudière-Appalaches

      ​Civil servants, para-public workers join walk-out

      Provincial employees in most government ministries and many para-public agencies will also be on strike Tuesday, in addition to Nov. 12 and 13, as well as Dec. 1, 2 and 3 — unless there is progress at the negotiating table before then.

      The provincial agencies affected Tuesday include:

      • Quebec Revenue Agency.
      • Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec (BAnQ).
      • Police Ethics Commission.
      • UPAC (Quebec's anti-corruption commission).
      • CSST (Workers' Health and Safety Board).
      • Quebec Labour Relations board.
      • Council for the Status of Women.
      • Coroner's Office.
      • Public Curator of Quebec.
      • Consumer's Protection Office.
      • Health Insurance Board (RAMQ).
      • Automobile Insurance Board (SAAQ).
      • Rental Board (Régie de Logement).
      • Office québécois de la langue française.

      For a complete list of offices closed Tuesday, click here:


      To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

      By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.