Where would Montreal's 24 new light rail stations be located?

A new electric, fully automated rail line would connect commuters from Montreal, the West Island, Laval and the South Shore.

Proposed rail would connect Montreal, West Island, South Shore and North Shore

(Caisse de dépôt et Placement)

If an ambitious plan for an electric, fully automated rail line pitched by the Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec goes forward, it would connect commuters from Montreal, the West Island, Laval and the South Shore.

The trains would span across 24 stations by 2020. It would operate seven days a week from 5 a.m. to 1 a.m.

It is the largest public transit proposal in the city since the Metro system was unveiled in 1966.

Each train would also have WIFI.

Here's where the train would stop:

West Island

The rail would connect municipalities along Highway 40 of the West Island.

The first four stations listed below would be newly built.

  • Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue
  • Kirkland
  • Pointe-Claire
  • Des Sources​

The proposal also includes having two stations located in the borough of Pierrefonds, near Montreal's North Shore.

  • Sunnybrooke
  • Roxboro-Pierrefonds​

Airport route

Intersecting close to Highways 13 and 40, the rail line would give commuters access to Montreal's airport.

  • Autoroute 13
  • Technoparc Saint-Laurent
  • Dorval Airport


Stations along the new rail will span across Montreal from the Saint-Laurent borough to Nuns Island. 

  • Bois-Franc
  • Du Ruisseau
  • Montpellier
  • Mont-Royal
  • ​Correspondence Highway 40
  • Canora
  • Central Station
  • Nuns Island

There is also the possibility of extending the rail to four other stations in Montreal.

  • Edouard-Montpetit (University of Montreal)
  • McGill
  • Bridge-Wellington
  • Du Havre

North Shore

The northern section of the rail would have four stops in the municipalities of Île-Bigras, Laval and Deux-Montagnes.

The North Shore is the only portion of the proposed project that would have parking options at all of its stations.

  • ​Île-Bigras
  • Ste-Dorothée
  • Grand-Moulin
  • Deux-Montagnes​

South Shore

The light rail will connect to Montreal's South Shore by the Champlain Bridge on Highway 15.

The three stations are located in Brossard:

  • Panama
  • Du Quartier
  • Rive-Sud​

There is also a fourth potential station.

  • Chevrier


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?