Winners and losers in and around Montreal on election night

The federal Liberals have built on their stronghold on the island of Montreal. Off island, it's a different story. Here's a look at the key results.

Liberals make gains, NDP Quebec deputy Alexandre Boulerice all that's left of Orange wave

The Liberals had a strong showing on the island of Montreal, taking 16 of 18 seats, as well as all four seats on Île Jésus. (Ivanoh Demers/Radio-Canada)

The federal Liberals have built on their stronghold on the island of Montreal, hanging onto all 14 of the seats they won in 2015 and taking two others from the New Democratic Party.

With the Liberals taking seats in two ridings that went NDP orange in the last two elections — Laurier–Sainte-Marie and Hochelaga — only the NDP's Quebec deputy, Alexandre Boulerice, was re-elected to a third term in Rosemont-La-Petite-Patrie.

"I think we knew from the beginning it would be a tough campaign, but I think we showed a lot of character," Boulerice said after his victory was secured.

"We might have needed a bit more time. Despite some disappointing results, what's important is that we opened some doors and paths for the future."

The Bloc Québécois's Mario Beaulieu was re-elected in the riding of Pointe-de-L'Ile, on Montreal's eastern tip. It is the only one of the island's 18 ridings that has consistently gone to the Bloc, except for in the 2011 Orange Wave.

Guilbeault takes Laurier–Sainte-Marie

In Laurier–Saint-Marie, the Liberals' star candidate, long-time environmental activist Steven Guilbeault, won, beating the NDP candidate, epidemiologist Nimâ Machouf. The Bloc Québécois's Michel Duchesne came in third.

A densely populated riding with many voters employed in the arts and culture industry, Laurier–Saint-Marie belonged to former Bloc Québécois leader Gilles Duceppe for 21 years before two-time NDP MP Hélène Laverdière took it from him in the 2011 Orange Wave. Laverdière retired from politics in this election.

In Hochelaga, Liberal candidate Soraya Martinez Ferrada was elected. It was a tight race against the Bloc Québécois's Simon Marchand, with the NDP trailing.

The NDP's Quebec deputy Alexandre Boulerice was re-elected for a third term in Rosemont. (Sean Kilpatrick/Canadian Press)

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau was re-elected in his riding of Papineau, and other cabinet ministers also hung onto their seats: Heritage Minister Pablo Rodriguez in Honoré-Mercier, Justice Minister David Lametti in LaSalle-Émard-Verdun, Transport Minister Marc Garneau in Westmount and the minister for the Francophonie, Mélanie Joly, in Ahuntsic-Cartierville.  

Other Liberal MPs were also re-elected in Montreal:

  • Francis Scarpaleggia (Lac-Saint-Louis).
  • Anju Dhillon (Dorval-Lachine-LaSalle).
  • Emmanuella Lambropoulos (Saint-Laurent).
  • Anthony Housefather (Mont-Royal).
  • Rachel Bendayan (Outremont).
  • Marc Miller (Ville-Marie-Le Sud-Ouest-Île-des-Soeurs).
  • Emmanuel Dubourg (Bourassa).

All four federal ridings in Laval remain Liberal red: Laval-Les-Îles, Vimy, Marc-Aurèle-Fortin and Alfred-Pellan.

Islands encircled by Bloc 

Of the other 16 ridings that make up the greater Montreal region, on the north and south shores of the St. Lawrence, the Liberals have lost four to the resurgent Bloc Québécois.

On Montreal's North Shore, the Bloc Québécois's Louise Chabot took Thérèse-De Blainville from the Liberals' Ramez Ayoub. And in Rivière-des-Mille-Îles, the Bloc's Luc Desliets won a tight race against the Liberal incumbent, Linda Lapointe.

On the South Shore, the Liberals Jean-Claude Poissant lost La Prairie to the Bloc's Alain Therrien.

In Montarville, the Liberal incumbent, Michel Picard, fell to Stéphane Bergeron of the Bloc. Bergeron said under the Bloc, the needs of Quebecers will come before sovereignist ideals. 

"The Bloc is still a sovereignist party, and we'll abide by the decisions of Quebecers, and we'll follow their rhythm through sovereignty," Bergeron said. "If they're not ready right now, we'll respect that."

"We'll do what we promised to do: bring the voice of Quebec in the House of Commons again."

The Liberals retained Brossard–Saint-Lambert, Châteauguay-Lacolle, Longueuil–Charles-LeMoyne and Vaudreuil-Soulanges. 

NDP in 4th place in Longueuil

In Longueuil-Saint-Hubert, held by the NDP in the last two elections, the Bloc's Denis Trudel won by close to 3,000 votes. Close behind him was Réjean Hébert, a former Parti Québécois minister who ran for the Liberals.

That Montreal South Shore riding elected Pierre Nantel for the NDP in 2015. Nantel was dropped by the New Democrats in August following revelations he had been in private talks to run for another political party.

Nantel, representing the Green Party in this election, was a distant third, with the NDP's Éric Ferland further back, in fourth place.

About the Author

Claire Loewen


Claire can be reached at Follow her on Twitter @clairelwn.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.