Conservative Larry Maguire elected in Brandon-Souris

Conservative Larry Maguire has been re-elected in the Brandon-Souris riding.

RAW: Conservative Larry Maguire happy with Brandon-Souris win

7 years ago
Duration 1:43
Conservative Larry Maguire greets supporters after winning the Brandon-Souris riding in Monday night's federal election.

Conservative Larry Maguire has been re-elected in the Brandon-Souris riding.
Poll numbers start to go up on the big board at Larry Maguire's office in Brandon. (Brett Purdy/CBC)

As of 11:30 p.m., with 171 of 194 polls reporting, Maguire had 4,853 votes over Liberal Jodi Wyman.

Wyman said she's happy it was a close, clean race and is excited about the national outcome.

"To see a Liberal majority government, to see Justin Trudeau as prime minister, it's the absolute best outcome we could've hoped for, so I am very excited about what's coming up next," Wyman said.

"Larry ran a really good campaign, he's got experience, he's a hard worker, so I extend my congratulations to him."

The Brandon-Souris riding, in the southwestern corner of Manitoba, has been Tory blue for almost as long as it has existed.

Walter Dinsdale (Progressive Conservative) was the MP from the riding's creation in 1952 until his death in 1982, winning 11 consecutive election victories. 

Only once have electors chosen a different colour, going red with the Liberal Party from 1993–97.

The Progressive Conservatives regained the seat in 1997 and have kept it since, even as the party merged with the Canadian Alliance to form the Conservative Party of Canada.

​The candidates in the riding for the 2015 federal election are:

  • David Neufeld, Green Party of Canada;
  • Wyman, Liberal Party of Canada;
  • Maguire, Conservative Party of Canada; and
  • Melissa Wastasecoot, New Democratic Party.

Maguire has represented the riding since winning a byelection in November 2013.

The previous Conservative MP, Merv Tweed, was the representative from 2004 until stepping down in 2013 to take the position as president of OmniTRAX Canada. Tweed was re-elected during the 2011 election with 22,386 votes (64 per cent of the voter share).

The NDP's John Bouché was second in 2011 with 8,845 votes (25 per cent), the Green Party's Dave Barnes was third with 2,012 votes (six per cent) and the Liberal Party's Wes Penner was last with ​1,882 votes (five per cent).

Voter turnout in the riding for the 2011 election was 58 per cent.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?