BreakOut West announces key WCMA awards, performer lineup

Excitement is building for BreakOut West and the Western Canadian Music Awards.

The Western Canadian Music Awards and BreakOut West take place in Winnipeg October 2-5, 2014.

Ron Paley will be honoured with the Heritage Award at this year's WCMAs.

Excitement is building for BreakOut West and the Western Canadian Music Awards coming to Winnipeg in October. The first lineup of performers has been announced with more bands to be named in the future. And some important WCMA recipients have been named.

This year’s Heritage Award recipient will be legendary Winnipeg pianist and composer Ron Paley who has been leading the Ron Paley Big Band since 1976. Paley has mentored countless Manitoba musicians and is currently completing a big band musical.
Kevin Walters helped organize many of the largest festivals in Winnipeg. (CBC)
The WCMA Industry Builder will be awarded posthumously to Manitoba’s great champion of music, Kevin Walters, who passed away in June 2014. Walters helped found the Prairie Music Awards that became the Western Canadian Music Awards and BreakOut West, launched the Winnipeg BBQ & Blues Festival, organized Manitoba Homecoming 2010 and Culture Days and helped bring The Juno Awards to Winnipeg twice.
Fred Penner is one of the featured performers at the Vancouver Children's Festival. (Vancouver International Children's Festival)

Veteran children's entertainer Fred Penner will receive this year’s Hall of Fame Award for his more than 25 years on the stage.

The recipients of these awards will be honoured at the Western Canadian Music Awards gala event on October 5 in Winnipeg. The celebration will be hosted once again by CBC personality and award-winning author Grant Lawrence

The weekend will begin with the two-day BreakOut West music festival and conference which brings musicians and industry professionals together to share their expertise and experiences.

Among the performers announced to perform at BreakOut West are many WCMA nominees. The first lineup includes:

All Else Fails* - Alta.
Boreal Sons* - Alta.
Cassidy Mann* - Man.
Chloe Albert* - Alta.
Corey Hamm* - B.C.
David Gogo* - B.C.
Desiree Dorion* - Man.
Digawolf - N.W.T.
Don Berner* - Alta.
Evil Ebenezer* - B.C.
Federal Lights* - Man. 
Hello Moth* - Alta.
Incura* - B.C.
Inez Jasper* - B.C.
Iskwé* - Man.
Jerrold Dubyk* - Alta.
Jocelyne Baribeau - Man.
Joe Nolan* - Alta 
Kim Beggs* - Yukon
Land’s End Chamber Ensemble* - Alta
Megan Lane - Sask.
Moses Mayes* - Man. 
Noire* - Man. 
Sain Arden* - B.C.
Scenic Route To Alaska* - Alta.
Scott Reisterer* - B.C.
Scott Richmond - Sask.
Shred Kelly - B.C.
The Dead South - Sask.
The Mariachi Ghost* - Man.
The Small Glories (Cara Luft & JD Edwards) - Man.
The Sojourners* - B.C.
The Steadies - Sask.
The Treble - Man.
The Wet Secrets* - Alta.
Tresor Ezoman & Namwira Folks* - Man.
Until Dawn* - Alta.
We Were Lovers* - Sask.
Whiskey Jane* - B.C.

*Indicates WCMA Nominee