5 Manitoba students win national awards for character, leadership

Five Manitoba high school students have landed prestigious awards that will help them further their studies.
Hannah Lank, a student at Winnipeg's Kelvin High School is one of the award winners. (Loran Scholars Foundation )
Annaliese Loeppky is from Morden and goes to Winkler's Garden Valley Collegiate. (Loran Scholars Foundation )
Five Manitoba high school students have landed awards worth up to $100,000 that will help them further their studies. 

One student from Winnipeg and four others from rural schools have been named Loran Scholars.

Erin Knight goes to Gilbert Plains Collegiate in Gilbert Plains. (Loran Scholars Foundation)
The funds are allocated over four years to allow the teens to pursue undergraduate studies in Canada. 

Loran Scholar Foundation spokesperson Julia Lo said it's the first time in the national charity's 25 year history that so many Manitoba students have been named out of the 30 recipients. 

Lauren Wiebe attends Niverville Collegiate in Niverville. (Loran Scholars Foundation )
She said normally two or three from each province are chosen each year.
Jayden Wlasichuk of Bowsman attends school at Swan Valley Regional Secondary School. (Loran Scholars Foundation )
Lo said the winning students were selected from 3,800 applicants from across the country, and were judged on "their character, commitment to service and outstanding overall leadership potential."

The five Manitobans and their schools are: 

  • Erin Knight, Gilbert Plains Collegiate, Gilbert Plains
  • Hannah Lank, Kelvin High School, Winnipeg
  • Annaliese Loeppky, Garden Valley Collegiate, Winkler
  • Lauren Wiebe, Niverville Collegiate, Niverville
  • Jayden Wlasichuk, Swan Valley Regional Secondary School, Swan River