Meet your new Waterloo Regional council

Waterloo Regional council will be inaugurated Wednesday evening. Here's a look at your councillors.

Regional council, comprised of the mayors in the region plus regional councillors from Kitchener, Cambridge and Waterloo will be inaugurated on Wednesday. 

Those marked with (R) have been re-elected.

Regional Chair: Ken Seiling (R)

Ken Seiling has been regional chair since 1985, a total of 29 years. When he first started as chair, only regional councillors could vote for the chair position, and they voted for Seiling then and again in 1988, 1991, and 1994. In 1997, Seiling was directly elected by the voters of Waterloo Region, and was re-elected in five subsequent election. Before taking his job as chair, Seiling was the mayor of Woolwich for seven years. Seiling has a Queen's Diamond Jubilee Medal for community service. 


Mayor Doug Craig (R)

Doug Craig is re-elected for his fifth term as mayor of Cambridge in the 2014 municipal election. (Supplied by Doug Craig)

Read more about Doug Craig, whose political role model is Hazel McCallion: 

Helen Jowett

(Helen Jowett)

Helen Jowett started a human resources consulting business, McDonald Green, in 1994. She is currently the president and CEO. She is a former chair of Cambridge Memorial Hospital Foundation, the Cambridge Chamber of Commerce and Canada's Technology Triangle group. 

Karl Kiefer

(Karl Kiefer)

Karl Kiefer has been a Cambridge city councillor for 23 years for Ward 3. He was first elected in 1991. He has worked as a financial advisor for Sun Life Financial since 1983. He will be a member of the police services board, and the vice chair of the planning and works committee.


Mayor: Berry Vrbanovic

Kitchener Mayoral Candidate Berry Vrbanovic at the Lisboa Bakery and Grill in Williamsburg (Tiffany Pope / CBC)

Read more about Berry Vrbanovic, who is emphasizing strong neighbourhoods as a key priority as mayor: 

​Tom Galloway (R)

(Tom Galloway)

Tom Galloway was first appointed to council in 1994, and again in 1997. Between 1991 and 2000, he also served as a Kitchener city councillor. From 2000 onwards, Galloway has been elected to regional council. He served as the chair of the administration and finance committee from 1997 to 2014. This term, he will chair the planning and works committee, and continue as the chair of the Waterloo Region Police Services Board, which he has held since 2001. 

Geoff Lorentz (R)

(Geoff Lorentz)

Geoff Lorentz was a Kitchener city councillor for 22 years, from 1988 to 2010, and is starting his second term as an elected regional councillor. Previously, Lorentz had been appointed to council for 12 years, from 1990. In In addition to his council role, Lorentz owns a small business and also the on-site property manager at the Sunrise Shopping Centre. 

Karen Redman

(Karen Redman)

Karen Redman served as the MP for Kitchener Centre from 1997 to 2008, elected a total of four times. She was the Liberal party's whip from 2004-2008. She was also the parliamentary secretary to the minister of environment, and was a member of the  Procedure and House Affairs committee. From 2012 to 2014, she was the Chief Operating Officer at Habitat for Humanity Waterloo Region. Prior to her entry into federal politics, she was a Kitchener city councillor and a Region of Waterloo councillor from 1994 to 1997. 

Wayne Wettlaufer

(Wayne Wettlaufer)

Wayne Wettlaufer is a former Progressive Conservative MPP, who served from 1995 to 2003. Earlier this year, he ran again for the PCs in Kitchener Centre, a seat that was won by Liberal MPP Daiene Vernile. 


Mayor Dave Jaworsky

Dave Jaworsky is running for mayor of Waterloo, one of four candidates registered in the city. (Courtesy Dave Jaworsky)

Read more about Dave Jaworsky, whose top priority is jobs: 

Jane Mitchell (R)

(Region of Waterloo)

Jane Mitchell has been a regional councillor since 2000. Prior to her time as regional councillor, she was a school board trustee from 1990 to 2000. She was also a librarian at Renison College at the University of Waterloo from 1982 to 2000. Now Mitchell is a partner in Arachne Web Consulting & Design. In her upcoming term she will chair the employment and income support community advisory committee and continue in role of the chair of the Grand River Conservation Authority, a position she has held since 2010. 

Sean Strickland (R)

(Sean Strickland)

Sean Strickland was previously a regional councillor from 1997 to 2003, and from 2006 to present. He ran in the provincial election in 2003, so was not a councillor at that time. His political career started in 1993 when he became a school board trustee for Waterloo Region, and then was elected a Waterloo city councillor in 1997. 

North Dumfries Township Mayor: Sue Foxton

(Courtesy Sue Foxton)

Read more about Sue Foxton, who counts Golda Meir as one of her political role models:

Wellesley Township Mayor: Joe Nowak

Wellesley Township mayor Joe Nowak says the township council has decided to keep the Lord's Prayer at the opening of council meetings, despite a recent Supreme Court ruling. (Courtesy Joe Nowak)

Read more about Joe Nowak, who says the biggest issue facing his township is its infrastructure deficit:

Wilmot Township Mayor: Les Armstrong (R)

(Courtesy Les Armstrong)

Read more about Les Armstrong, who wants to maintain, upgrade or replace the township's infrastucture:

Woolwich Township Mayor: Sandy Shantz

Sandy Shantz was elected Woolwich Township mayor by a comfortable 3,544-vote margin in October's municipal election. (Courtesy Sandy Shantz)

Read more about Sandy Shantz, who wants to ensure that pubic input is taken seriously at the township: