Meet your new Waterloo city council

Waterloo city councillors-elect and the mayor-elect will be inaugurated in a ceremony on Monday evening at city hall. Below is a brief look at your new councillors.

Waterloo's incoming city councillors and mayor will be inaugurated in a ceremony on Monday evening at city hall. 

Below is a brief look at your new councillors.

Candidates who have been re-elected to the same position are marked with an (R).

Mayor: Dave Jaworsky

Dave Jaworsky is running for mayor of Waterloo, one of four candidates registered in the city. (Courtesy Dave Jaworsky)

Dave Jaworsky was an executive at BlackBerry (then called Research In Motion) for 12 years, until 2012. He was a member of the Greater KW Chamber of Commerce for six years and the vice chair of the Communitech Board of Directors for three years. Until he was elected mayor, Jaworsky was the executive in residence at Capacity Waterloo Region, mentoring entrepreneurs and offering expertise and coaching to the non-profit sector. 

Ward 1: Bob Mavin (acclaimed)

(City of Waterloo)

Bob Mavin is the former city of Waterloo chief financial officer and treasurer. He also worked for the city of Toronto's director of budget services, as a manager with Deloitte consulting in Toronto, and the director of financial services for the Regional Municipality of Waterloo.

Ward 2: Brian Bourke

Brian Bourke (Ward 2) is one of the new faces at Waterloo council. (Courtesy Brian Bourke)

Brian Bourke worked as a journalist and broadcaster, including 31 years as the news director and assignment editor for KOOL FM 105.3 and KFUN 99.5 . He recently ended his column in the Waterloo Chronicle, 'Piece of Bourke' because he was elected. Bourke was awarded Queen's Diamond Jubliee Medal for Community Service. 

Ward 3: Angela Veith (R)

(Angela Veith)

Angela Veith was elected for a third time as Ward 3's council representative. She is a former chair of the Waterloo Communities in Bloom committee, and is now a provincial judge with Communities in Bloom. During her previous terms on council, she has served on the city's economic development committee and municipal heritage committee. 

Ward 4: Diane Freeman (R)

(Diane Freeman)

Diane Freeman is starting her third term on council. Freeman has a civil engineering degree from the University of Waterloo and works with Conestoga-Rovers and Associates Ltd. as an engineer in their business development department. She was the president of the Professional Engineers of Ontario council from 2010 to 2011, and is currently director of the large urban caucus at the Association of Municipalities of Ontario. 

Ward 5: Mark Whaley (R)

(Mark Whaley)

This is Mark Whaley's fourth term in office. He was previously elected in 2003, 2006 and 2010. Before his time on council, Whaley was a social worker for 30 years for the Region of Waterloo before retiring in 2000. He is the founder of the 10,000 Trees Project, which sought to increase Waterloo's tree cover by planting 10,000 trees. The group succeed in reaching that goal in 2008 and now continues to offer education on urban reforestation and tree plantings. 

Ward 6: Jeff Henry (R)

(Jeff Henry)

Jeff Henry is serving his second term on council. He works for the University of Waterloo as a faculty relations and academic support specialist in the Student Success Office. In his previous term he was the council representative on the Region’s Transit Service Improvement committee. He served as the president of the Canadian Mental Health Association Grand River Branch, and helped merge that branch into the new Waterloo-Wellington-Dufferin branch.

Ward 7: Melissa Durrell (acclaimed) 

(Melissa Durrell)

Melissa Durrell is starting her second term on council. She runs a public relations company called Durrell Communications. Prior to that, she worked for Rogers and CTV as an anchor, producer and reporter. She has a bachelor of journalism degree from Ryerson University.